Singled Out: Good Tiger's Grip Shoes

Good Tiger recent released their new single "Grip Shoes" from their forthcoming album "We Will All Be Gone" and to celebrate we asked singer Elliot Coleman to tell us about the track. Here is the story:

"Grip Shoes" is without a doubt one of my favourite songs I have been a part of. We had started to write our second album and made some instrumental demos prior to a tour we had in the fall of 2016. Grip Shoes immediately stuck out me, specifically the guitar melody in the chorus. I must have listened to the demo a hundred times during that tour, working and developing the vocals. Once the tour was over I started vocal pre-pro and developed the whole song, turning what we had into the song it is today.

Depending on the feel of the song, I'll either opt to write the melody first, lyrics second, or vice versa; "Grip Shoes" is a rare instance where it was a mix of both. The chorus was all feel, while I wrote the lyrics then the melody for the verses. The lyrics were inspired by the actions of a close friend of mine, as well as an introspective, existential look at myself. I think all of us can be overwhelmed, procrastinate and let life pass us by. I think in writing these lyrics, it was a wake up call to myself to push myself and do more with what I have.

The song was in a fairly finished state before going into the studio, but we still didn't have a bridge that we felt did justice to the rest of the song. Our producer, Forrester Savell, Dez (guitarist), and myself probably spent a little under an hour coming up with something that gave the song a quick, frantic, and emotional relief, which after weeks of searching for the right part was extremely rewarding. Towards the end of the recording process Forrester wanted to revisit the outro, adding a makeshift choir (all the guys in the studio) to add an extra layer of grandeur and spiritual finale to the song. I think the subject matter is something we could all relate to, and it was great to have everyone in the studio be part of that.

Hearing is believing. Now that you know the story behind the song, listen for yourself here and learn more about the album right here!


Related Stories
  • Singled Out: Good Tiger's Grip Shoes
  • Prog Supergroup Good Tiger Announce Euro Tour
  • Good Tiger (The Safety Fire, Tesseract, Architects) Crowdfund Album
  • More Stories for Good Tiger
  • Good Tiger Music
  • News Reports
  • Day in Rock: Richie Sambora On Possible Bon Jovi Reunion At Rock Hall Induction- Linkin Park Release Live Sharp Edges Video- The Doors Final Concert Ever Filmed Being Released-more
  • Page Too: Ariana Grande Confirms Work On A New Album- Luke Bryan Plays New York Hospital For The Holidays- Sam Smith Performs 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas'- more
  • 2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced- Slipknot's Corey Taylor Announces Live Acoustic Release- Controversial Unedited Morrissey Interview Released-more
  • Rock News Stories
  • Foo Fighters Featured In New 'SNL' Promo Video
  • Dire Straits Rock Hall Reunion Up In The Air
  • Dickey Betts Returning To The Road Next Year
  • The Shins Change Things Up With 'The Worm's Heart' Album
  • Depeche Mode, Gorillaz, The Killers Lead Lollapalooza Paris Lineup
  • Richie Sambora On Possible Bon Jovi Reunion At Rock Hall Induction
  • Linkin Park Release Live Sharp Edges Video
  • The Doors Final Concert Ever Filmed Being Released
  • Whitesnake Stream 'Fool For Your Loving' From New Live Package
  • The National Release Abstract 'Sleep Well Beast' Video
  • Page Too News Stories
  • Best Songs on Eminem's New Album 'Revival'
  • Jake Owen Shows Off His Rap Battle Skills
  • Cole Swindell Unplugs For 'Beer in the Headlights'
  • Chris Brown Releases '12 Days Of Christmas' Expansion
  • Jeezy and Tory Lanez Perform 'Like Them' On The Late Show
  • Ariana Grande Confirms Work On A New Album
  • Luke Bryan Plays New York Hospital For The Holidays
  • Sam Smith Performs 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas'
  • Camila Cabello And Grey Stream New Song 'Crown'
  • Cardi B Gives Fiance Offset Rolls Royce For His 26th Birthday
  • Reviews
  • All Recent Reviews and Interviews
  • Dave Koz And Friends Bring Christmas Show To Arizona's Mesa Arts Center
  • Black Sabbath - The End (5 Stars)
  • Holiday Gift Guide: Travel Edition
  • Santa's Jukebox: Balsam Range, Sha Na Na and Jennifer Saran
  • Holiday Gift Guide: Jethro Tull - Songs from the Wood: The Country Set
  • Holiday Gift Guide: Queen - News of the World: 40th Anniversary Edition
  • Holiday Gift Guide: George Michael - Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1/MTV Unplugged
  • Rock Reads: Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers: The Rise of Motorhead
  • Rock Reads: Holiday Gift Guide Edition

  • Contact Us - Privacy - Why we are antiMusic

    Copyright© 1998 - 2016 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.