Trivium's Matt Heafy Releases Holiday-Themed Covers

(Gibson) Earlier this year, Trivium frontman and guitarist Matt Heafy started a new video series on his YouTube channel. The series saw Heafy perform stripped-down, acoustic covers of some of rock's greatest classics.

Over the year, he's performed slow-burning, moving renditions of songs like Johnny Cash's 'Hurt', 'Can't Help Falling In Love', Soundgarden's 'Black Hole Sun', 'I Won't Back Down' by Tommy Petty as well as songs by contemporary modern rock acts like Linkin Park, Blink-182 and Opeth.

Over the last week, given the seasonal mood, Heafy worked in four covers of holiday-themed classics (watch them here). He started with a version of the Joni Mitchell Christmas folk song 'River,' from her classic Blue album, following it up with a rendition of Bing Crosby and The Andrews Sisters' version of the Hawaiian Christmas classic 'Mele Kalikimaka.' Heafy rounded up the Christmas week with a cover of Elvis Presley's 'Blue Christmas' and another of 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas' by Frank Sinatra. Read more here.


Related Stories
  • Trivium's Matt Heafy Reveals Van Halen and Offspring Influence
  • Trivium's Matt Heafy Releases Holiday-Themed Covers
  • Trivium Star Leaves Group and Announces New Band 2017 In Review
  • Trivium And Arch Enemy Announce North American Tour
  • Trivium Bassist Confirms Band's Lineup Change
  • Trivium Star Leaves Group and Announces New Band
  • Trivium's Matt Heafy on Ember To Inferno's Curse
  • Trivium Stream 'Primal' Early Track 'Lake Of Fire'
  • Trivium's Matt Heafy Unplugs For Soundgarden Cover
  • Trivium Stream Early Demo 'The Storm'
  • More Stories for Trivium
  • Trivium Music
  • News Reports
  • Day in Rock: Guns N' Roses Recap Reunion Tour Leg With New Video- Aerosmith's Joe Perry Joined by All-Star Guests At Club Show- Judas Priest Preview Their New Song 'Spectre'- more
  • Page Too: Offset of Migos Addresses Controversial Verse- Keith Urban Announces 'Graffiti U' Album And Tour- Justin Timberlake Releases 'Supplies' Video- Jason Aldean Announces Tour- more
  • Former AC/DC, Ozzy, Dio Members Form New Supergroup- Paul McCartney Jams Beatles Classic With Members Of Muse- Previously Unreleased Prince Recordings- more

  • Copyright 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.