Singled Out: Disciples of Babylon's Without You

Disciples of Babylon are releasing their new album 'The Rise and Fall of Babylon' on October 6th. To celebrate we asked Eric Knight to tell us about the lead single "Without You". Here is the story:

Without You which is our first single off of our new record 'The Rise and Fall of Babylon' was one of those songs that evolved a bit from what it originally was. I remember having a hard time coming up with a concrete melody for this track.

We came up with the initial structure for it pretty quickly but even then the arrangement kept changing quite a bit. We find ourselves our own worst critics when it comes to writing music. We've tried to set the bar so high that we are constantly editing ourselves until we feel the track is tight and concise. I remember we were at rehearsals before a big show of ours and I think we weren't having a lot of luck locking the arrangement down or vocal parts. We came out of there that day kinda frustrated. That night I was trying to finish writing lyrics for the song when I had this melody come into my head for the beginning section of the song, these "whoa" parts. It was at that moment for me that everything came together and kinda glued the whole track together. I remember coming back to our next rehearsal the very next day telling the guys I think I've got the answer. They heard it and dug it we then everything came together with the arrangement and the rest was history.

The song is about coming to terms and rising up from a situation in a relationship that you know is not going to work out even after trying so hard in the process to make it work. It's a song of empowerment to a certain degree and hope.

It's not coming from a standpoint of hurting the other person even though they've hurt you during the course of the relationship. It's one of reaching that final closure.

Hearing is believing. Now that you know the story behind the song, listen for yourself and learn more about the album right here!


Related Stories
  • Singled Out: Disciples of Babylon's Freedom
  • Singled Out: Disciples of Babylon's Without You
  • More Stories for Disciples of Babylon
  • Disciples of Babylon Music
  • News Reports
  • Day in Rock: Cinderella's Tom Keifer Hospitalized Following Collapse- Guns N' Roses Star Suffering From Potentially Fatal Heart Condition- Black Sabbath Reveal Details For The End Film- more
  • Page Too: Ed Sheeran Seriously Injures His Arm In Accident- Aaron Carter Has Returned To Rehab- Joe Jonas Engaged To 'Game of Thrones' Sophie Turner- Taylor Swift Video- more
  • Guns N' Roses Hit New Milestone With Reunion Tour- Eagles Stream Previously Unreleased Hotel California Recording- Rush Expand A Farewell To Kings For Reissues- more
  • Rock News Stories
  • Guns N' Roses Hit New Milestone With Reunion Tour
  • Eagles Stream Previously Unreleased Hotel California Recording
  • Rush Expand A Farewell To Kings For Anniversary Reissues
  • George Michael Celebrated With Nostalgic 'Fantasy' Video
  • Elvis Costello And Bonnie Raitt Remember Tom Petty
  • Singled Out: Silk9's I Don't Know
  • Linkin Park Fans Create Message Ahead of Chester Bennington Tribute
  • Evanescence Release 'Imperfection' Music Video
  • Judas Priest Launch Rock Hall Fan Vote Campaign
  • Whitesnake Release The Purple Tour Live Package
  • Page Too News Stories
  • Taylor Swift Releases New Single 'Gorgeous'
  • Katy Perry Gets Stuck On Prop At He Nashville Show
  • Country Stars Honor Vegas Victims At CMT's Artists of the Year Ceremony
  • Selena Gomez Praises Demi Lovato's 'Simply Complicated' Documentary
  • Shawn Mendes Announces 'MTV Unplugged' Album
  • Gucci Mane Releases 'Back On' Music Video
  • Kelly Clarkson Streams New Track 'Meaning of Life'
  • Dolly Parton Reveals Hurricane Relief Efforts Details
  • Eminem Surprises Pistons Fans At Season Opener
  • Lil Uzi Vert Pulls Plug On Tour With Playboi Carti
  • Reviews
  • All Recent Reviews and Interviews
  • Rock Reads: We Were Going to Change the World: Interviews with Women from the 1970s & 1980s Southern California Punk Rock Scene
  • Chris Barron - Angels and One-Armed Jugglers
  • Kylie Odetta - Undertow
  • Road Trip: Dublin By Bicycle: It's Electric!
  • Kris Heaton Band - World Gone Mad
  • Blind Lemon Pledge - Backwards Glance
  • Road Trip: Explore Ancient Ireland at the Kerry Bog Village
  • Steve Miller Band - Ultimate Hits (5 Star)
  • Staring Into Nothing - Power

  • Contact Us - Privacy - Why we are antiMusic

    Copyright© 1998 - 2016 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.