antiMusic Logo
Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Feeds

Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

For the life of me I can't figure how this record fly's under so many Led Zeppelin fans' radar. Especially the ones I know from Southern California. I understand all the hype about their other live album "The Song Remains The Same" because of the supporting movie and all. But c'mon man, this album is not only better musically, but the whole thing was recorded at The Forum in LA on June 25th, 1972 and The Long Beach Sports Arena on June 27th 1972.

And forget about this being a double album, this one is triple album length with over a 150 minutes of material. As far as The Billboard 200 goes, yes this album did make it to #1 on the charts and not only hung around there for 2 or 3 weeks but also remained on The 200 for another 4 months or so.

Jimmy Page considers Led Zeppelin at this point to have been at their artistic peak. He told The Los Angeles Times in 2010, "I think what we did on How the West was Won - that 1972 gig - is pretty much a testament of how good it was. It would have been nice to have had a little more visual recordings, but there you go. That's the conundrum of Led Zeppelin"

So there you go…If you are a hardcore Zep fan like yours truly, this album is a MUST have. I triple promise (no pun intended) you will not be disappointed. So without further delay, released on May 23rd, 2003 on Atlantic Records and Produced by Jimmy Page, Led Zeppelin "How The West Was Won". Remember to keep one foot in the gutter and one fist in the gold!

Track listing
Disc one

No. Title Writer(s) Recording date and venue Length
1. "LA Drone" John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page 27 June, Long Beach Arena 0:15
2. "Immigrant Song" Page, Robert Plant Mixed from both nights 3:41
3. "Heartbreaker" John Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant Mixed from both nights 7:23
4. "Black Dog" Jones, Page, Plant Mixed from both nights 5:40
5. "Over the Hills and Far Away" Page, Plant Mixed from both nights 5:07
6. "Since I've Been Loving You" Jones, Page, Plant 27 June, Long Beach Arena 8:01
7. "Stairway to Heaven" Page, Plant Mixed from both nights; Mellotron from Southampton University, Southampton, England, 22 January 1973 9:36
8. "Going to California" Page, Plant 27 June, Long Beach Arena 5:36
9. "That's the Way" Page, Plant 25 June, LA Forum 5:53
10. "Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp" Jones, Page, Plant 27 June, Long Beach Arena 4:52

Disc two
No. Title Writer(s) Recording date and venue Length
11. "Dazed and Confused" ,"Walter's Walk", "The Crunge" Page, Plant
Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant 25 June, LA Forum 25:25
12. "What Is and What Should Never Be"
Page, Plant 27 June, Long Beach Arena 4:41
13. "Dancing Days"
Page, Plant Mixed from both nights 3:42
14. "Moby Dick"
Bonham, Jones, Page 25 June, LA Forum 19:20
Disc three
No. Title Writer(s) Recording date and venue Length
15. "Whole Lotta Love"
"Boogie Chillun"
"Let's Have a Party"
"Hello Marylou"
"Going Down Slow"
Bonham, Willie Dixon, Jones, Page, Plant
Bernie Besman, John Lee Hooker
Jessie Mae Robinson
Cayet Mangiaracina, Gene Pitney
James B. Oden
25 June, LA Forum 23:08
16. "Rock and Roll"
Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant 27 June, Long Beach Arena 3:56
17. "The Ocean"
Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant 25 June, LA Forum 4:21
18. "Bring It On Home"
"Bring It On Back"

Led Zeppelin
• John Bonham - drums, percussion, backing vocals, co-lead vocals on "Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp"
• John Paul Jones - bass guitar, double bass, bass pedals, keyboards, mandolin, backing vocals
• Jimmy Page - acoustic and electric guitar, mandolin, backing vocals, production
• Robert Plant - vocals, harmonica

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

tell a friend about this review




News Reports
Day in Rock:
Recently Unearthed Beatles Recording Streaming Online- Ozzy Osbourne Announces Rescheduled Retirement Tour Dates- Disturbed Announce 2019 Evolution World Tour- more

Page Too

All That Remains' Oli Herbert Killed In Accident- Slipknot Making Special Plans For 20th Anniversary- Dave Grohl Announces Live Debut For Epic Solo Song 'Play'- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Caught In The Act: L.A. Guns Live

• On The Record: The Tomicks

• MorleyView: KK Downing (Judas Priest)

• Leader Of Down (Motorhead) - Cascade Into Chaos

• Caught In The Act: Tremonti Live

• Sites and Sounds: Trailing Of The Sheep Festival

• Remembering Geoff Emerick

• Sean Ardoin - Kreole Rock and Soul

• Caught In The Act: Ringo Starr and His All Starr Band Live In Chicago

• Root 66 Week: Grand Old Grizzly - Pure Country Pyrite

• Root 66 Week: The Mountain Home Family - Come See About Me

• Root 66 Week: Dennis K. Duff - Songs from Lyon County

• Root 66 Week: Banjo Nickaru & Western Scooches - Get Us Out Of Fearland

• The Public Image Is Rotten

• Alien Country - Like My Life Depends on It

• Mettle - 27 Ghosts

• Caught In The Act: Judas Priest and Deep Purple Live

• Journey and Def Leppard Rock Talking Stick Arena in Phoenix

• Fall Out Boy: The Road To Wrigley

• Amaris - Aquamarine

• Maxwell James - Self-Titled

• RockPile: Saxon Edition

• Novagolde - Self-Titled

• Clutch - Book of Bad Decisions

. .
Today's Rock News
. Fleetwood Mac React To Lindsey Buckingham Lawsuit (top story)

Foo Fighters Jam With 10-Year-Old Goes Viral (top story)

Steve Perry Hits The Top 10 With New Album (top story)

Megadeth's Dave Mustaine To Experience Hendrix For The 1st Time (top story)

Ace Frehley Releases 'Rockin' With The Boys' Video (top story)

Nikki Sixx Shares Excitement Over New Motley Crue Music (top story)

Metallica Release Video Of Debut Live Performance Of 'Dyer's Eve' (top story)

Bullet For My Valentine Release 'Not Dead Yet' Video (top story)

Nothing More Release 'Let 'Em Burn' Video (top story)

Dream Theater's Jordan Rudess Announces 3 Continent Tour (top story)

The Airway Release 'In Case You've Been Wondering' Video (top story)

Singled Out: Right On, Kid's Loci (top story)

Slash Changed His Tune About Axl Singing With AC/DC (top story)

Corey Taylor Reveals Slipknot's New Album Release Plans (top story)

Def Leppard Streaming Their New Christmas Song (top story)

Iron Maiden Announce Remastered Studio Album Reissue Campaign (top story)

Rolling Stones Stream Song From Voodoo Lounge Uncut (top story)

Metallica Release Live Video From Hometown Show (top story)

Beatles' Pepper Named Britain's Most Popular Studio Album Of All Time (top story)

The Killers' Dave Keuning Streams New Solo Single (top story)

Alter Bridge Stream Orchestral 'Words Darker Than Their Wings' Video (top story)

Heart Announce Live In Atlantic City Album And DVD (top story)

Sia Streaming New Song 'I'm Still Here' (top story)

Singled Out: Ryan Hamilton and The Harlequin Ghosts' Straight Up (top story)

Pink Floyd Streaming Rare 1967 Video (top story)

Stray Cats Recording First New Album in 25 Years (top story)

Metallica Reveal Live Video For Classic 'Creeping Death' (top story)

The Kinks' Dave Davies Releases 'This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)' Video (top story)

Singled Out: Richard Lloyd (Television) (top story)

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Page Too News

More News

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2016 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.