The Dove Awards Recap and Winners List

Here is the official recap and major award winners list for the 42nd Annual GMA Dove Awards which were handed out last night at the Fabulous Fox Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia:

The 42nd Annual GMA Dove Awards hosted by TV host and comedienne Sherri Shepherd will be televised on GMC, America's favorite network for uplifting entertainment (www.watchgmctv.com), on Sunday, April 24 at 7 p.m. PT.

Incoming GMA Chairman of the Board Mitchell Solerek said, "What an amazing night of music and honor. Tonight's performances were all a testament to why we are all here. On behalf of membership of the GMA, we are proud to present this year's Dove winners and congratulate each of them and the nominees on their achievements. We would also like to thank the city of Atlanta and the ACVB for all their efforts in making this year's Dove Awards an unprecedented success."

"GMA Dove Awards represent Gospel and Christian music's biggest night of the year and tonight's performances were extraordinary," said Charley Humbard, President, GMC. "Honoring some of the industry's most celebrated names in our home town of Atlanta and broadcasting this inspiring event to a nationwide audience reinforces GMC's commitment to bringing the best in uplifting music and entertainment to our viewers," he continued.

Multi-award winners tonight are Chris August, Francesca Battistelli, Jason Crabb and Point of Grace pulling down 3 Doves a piece; making them the top award winners for the evening.

This is the second year in a row for Francesca Battistelli to take home Female Vocalist of the Year honors and the first year to be crowned Artist of the Year. She also won Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year.

First-time nominee and multi-award winner for Male, New Artist and Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year Chris August had quite a night.

The night was full of special collaborations. Chris Tomlin and the Passion Artists ignited the evening with a Praise and Worship sing-a-long of "Our God", Third Day's single "Children of God," represented hope as Third Day was joined by Mark Hall of Casting Crowns and Steven Curtis Chapman to honor Chapman and his wife Mary Beth's ministry, SHOW HOPE with the GMC UPLIFT SOMEONE award. Kenny Rogers and Point of Grace finished with a standing ovation. Other show highlights included all of the Female Vocalist of the Year nominees performing a tribute to the legendary Sandi Patty, the Dove Award's most honored female singer to date.

Kirk Franklin raised the roof in his inimitable way his high energy closing that rounded out an evening of performances that ranged from country to hip-hop to contemporary gospel, rock and pop all representing the uplifting message of Gospel and Christian music. All-in-all, the evening played host to many outstanding performances by Jason Crabb and MIKESCHAIR, Natalie Grant and LeCrae, Committed and Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, Mary Mary, Kenny Rogers with Point of Grace and many more.

The Dove Awards represent a wide-array of musical styles ranging from Adult Contemporary, Bluegrass, Country, Gospel, Inspirational, Pop, Rap/Hip-Hop, Rock, Spanish Language, Urban and Worship categories.

The Dove Awards in the overall categories went to:
Artist of the Year: Francesca Battistelli
Female Vocalist of the Year: Francesca Battistelli
Male Vocalist of the Year: Chris August
Group of the Year: NEEDTOBREATHE
New Artist of the Year: Chris August
Song of the Year: "Sometimes I Cry"; Jason Crabb (artist), Gerald Crabb, Christian Taylor Music (BMI)
Songwriter of the Year: Gerald Crabb
Producer of the Year: Ian Eskelin

Full list of nominees and winners can be found a href="http://www.gospelmusic.org/files/Doves/dovewinners2011.pdf" target="_blank">here

Preview and Purchase Dove Awards CDs

Dove Awards MP3 Downloads



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.