Patti Smith Career On One Disc

Legacy Recordings have announced the release of a new Patti Smith collection called Outside Society that includes her signature songs on the Arista and Columbia labels.

The landmark 18-song release marks the first single-CD collection to span Patti's entire body of recorded work. The chronologically arranged tracks move from 1975 (her debut album, Horses, with "Gloria" and "Free Money") through 2007 (Twelve, with her cover of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit").

Also released on vinyl as a double-LP set, Outside Society will be available everywhere August 23rd. The music on Outside Society is newly remastered by award-winning engineer Greg Calbi and Patti Smith band member Tony Shanahan. The CD booklet will feature brief recollections of each song written by Patti, who personally supervised the choices.

Of "Because The Night," for example, Patti writes: "Bruce Springsteen gave me a great gift in allowing me to lend verses to his beautifully constructed anthem. My contribution was written for my future husband, Fred 'Sonic' Smith. Though we have performed it hundreds of times, the strong response it draws always makes it fresh and exciting to sing."

1. Gloria (Horses, 1975) *
2. Free Money (Horses, 1975) *
3. Ain't It Strange (Radio Ethiopia, 1976) *
4. Pissing In A River (Radio Ethiopia, 1976) *
5. Because The Night (Easter, 1978) *
6. Rock N Roll Nigger (Easter, 1978) *
7. Dancing Barefoot (Wave, 1979) *
8. Frederick (Wave, 1979) *
9. So You Want To Be A Rock N Roll Star (Wave, 1979) *
10. People Have the Power (Dream of Life, 1988) *
11. Up There Down There (Dream of Life, 1988) *
12. Beneath The Southern Cross (Gone Again, 1996) *
13. Summer Cannibals (Gone Again, 1996) *
14. 1959 (Peace and Noise, 1997) *
15. Glitter In Their Eyes (Gung Ho, 2000) *
16. Lo and Beholden (radio edit) (Gung Ho, 2000) *
17. Smells Like Teen Spirit (Twelve, 2007) *
18. Trampin' (Trampin', 2004).

Patti Smith Music and T-shirts and Posters

Patti Smith T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.