Pestilence New Album Coming Next Month

Mascot Records will deliver the sixth full-length album from Pestilence to North American fans on July 19, 2011.

Titled Doctrine, the 11-track long player was recorded and mixed at Woodshed Studio in southern Germany with vocalist/guitarist by Patrick Mameli, Yuma van Eekelen and Victor Bullok (Triptykon, Dark Fortress) and offers up a torrent of thought-provoking lyrics, dissonant chords, complex rhythm patterns and low-tuned riffs.

While not a "concept album" in the traditional sense, the record is largely based around the various ways humanity often suffers under the burden of religion and politics. "I always put a lot of effort in the lyrics," comments vocalist/guitarist Patrick Mameli. "I never felt the need to write 'gore' lyrics, like so many other bands do. I am aware of what is going on in the world and I have the feeling that I have something to say about it."

Doctrine Track Listing:
01. The Predication
02. Amgod
03. Doctrine
04. Salvation
05. Dissolve
06. Absolution
07. Sinister
08. Divinity
09. Deception
10. Malignant
11. Confusion

Pestilence started in 1986 and were initially influenced by American and German thrash. By the time of their second album however, 1989's Consuming Impulse, the band had developed its own brand of brutal death metal. In the years that followed, Pestilence became one of the prime bands in the international death metal scene. The group toured relentlessly, further honing their skills and absorbing outside influences. This inevitably lead to 1993's timeless Spheres full-length, on which founding member Mameli combined his well-loved death metal sound with a new musical passion: fusion. The album was an artistic triumph, but was also many years ahead of its time. In 1994 Pestilence disbanded and Mameli withdrew from the music scene.

Preview and Purchase Pestilence CDs

Pestilence T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.