Love Crushed Velvet Set US Release

(Submitted) After two years in the making and a successful launch overseas, Love Crushed Velvet's debut album will finally hit in the USA on July 12, 2011.

The intriguing self-titled album evokes the melodic atmospherics of New Wave/post-punk yet is thoroughly modern in its sensibilities. To classic rock chord structures and New Wave flourishes, frontman/songwriter A.L.X. adds his own pop sensibilities. A Love Crushed Velvet tune may recall The Clash, early U2, even the mysterious tone of a David Lynch film—simultaneously.

Love Crushed Velvet looked to veterans of the postpunk era in order to best capture the musical spirit of that time—while making it relevant to 2011. As described by A.L.X., "Instead of looking for other young players who had an appreciation of New Wave and early post-punk, we went straight to the source and recruited some of the great talents of that period." Legendary drummer Thommy Price, who is known for the driving rhythm that defined Scandal and Billy Idol and still considered one of rock's most distinguished drummers, anchors the muscular backbeat that characterizes the band's sound. The band's choice to mix their album was veteran David Bascombe (Depeche Mode, The Verve, Placebo, Tears for Fears), who understood the band's stylistic roots yet recognized the contemporary relevance of A.L.X.'s songs.

As a songwriter, A.L.X. captures musical impulses wherever they occur—even if that means recording ideas aloud in the shadows behind a public building. This sort of cloaked creativity is the essence of Love Crushed Velvet. The band's beguiling pop/rock grooves overlay lyrics that explore the reality that life is often multi-layered. A.L.X. explains that, in his songwriting, "there's a certain acknowledgement that life isn't necessarily sugar-coated, that emotions are complex and sometimes come from dark places." Similarly, the intricate production of each track mirrors what A.L.X. calls the "perfect sheen", under which he often finds a veiled truth. He adds, "There are things within all of us that aren't necessarily so

Though A.L.X. is no stranger to the indie/alternative rock scene both in New York and internationally, Love Crushed Velvet marks the first time in recent memory that he has developed a record with his own working band. In addition to Price, seasoned guitarist Jimi Bones (Joan Jett, Blondie) joined the band to forge a hybrid sound that draws from the combined influences of its creators.

Consequently, the album Love Crushed Velvet reflects a unique synthesis of musical inspirations. In its juxtaposition of catchy melodies with edgy lyrics, the music resists simple categorization. For this reason, A.L.X. decided to produce and release the album independently. He explains, "We feel that our sound isn't easily placed into a convenient category." Nevertheless, the album's release is eagerly anticipated by the band's growing global fanbase.

Track Listings
1. Letter 3:23
2. Goodbye Goldblatt 3:39
3. Love Crushed Velvet 4:17
4. Famous 4:11
5. Problem Child 4:02
6. Burning Embers 4:16
7. Puttin' On A Weapon 3:50
8. Willie B 4:24
9. Bright Summer 4:07
10. Heatwave 5:06

Preview and Purchase Love Crushed Velvet CDs

Love Crushed Velvet T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.