Psychic Babble Coming in August

(Submitted) Psychic Babble's debut full-length album, My Brother's Ears/My Sister's Eyes, will be released digitally and on vinyl on August 16 via Yenta Records.

The musical alias of Philadelphia-based multi-instrumental Colin Frangicetto, Psychic Babble has created a strikingly confident album that is an ode to his love of melody, reverb, harmonies, classic songwriting and experimentation.

Inspired by everything from the Beach Boys and Peter Gabriel to Ride and Radiohead, the album is an expansive listen that distills a variety of influences into a heady concoction ranging from lo-fi bedroom confessionals to dream-pop sometime in the same song, as evidenced in the alluring album opener, "Five Fold Kiss (Don't Sleep)."

The track begins with echoey keyboards, hushed vocals and a drum machine before building into a lush symphony of guitars that wash over you while the chorus envelops you in a warmth of sound. "Nothing Familiar" combines a hypnotic, snakey guitar line with Phil Spector-esque drums and stabbing rhythm guitar to create one of the many highlights of the album. As is the case with many of the songs on the LP, the track only gets better with repeated listens as closer listening reveals just how much is going on as the sonic intricacies rise to the surface.

Frangicetto's endearing love song to his wife, "Samantha," continues his fondness for booming drums, pairing them with the Beach Boys-like harmonies that pervade many of the 10 tracks, while "Harper" brings the album to an end as as layers of snyths, tambourine, thundering guitar and beautifully emotive vocals coalesce into a stirring conclusion.


1. Five Fold Kiss (Don't Sleep)
2. Nothing Familiar
3. Samantha
4. Radio Songs
5. You Said It
6. Crocodile Tears
7. Boulevard
8. Let Me Change
9. Follow Your Bliss
10. Harper

Preview and Purchase Psychic Babble CDs

Psychic Babble T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.