Simply Red Farewell CD and DVD Set For Release

To mark the end of Simply Red's career, Capitol/EMI will release a concert album and film of one of the band's final and most spectacular gigs on thier farewell tour, shot against the backdrop of the iconic Sydney Opera House.

Titled 'Farewell Live In Concert At Sydney Opera House,' the concert will be released on CD/DVD on May 17; the audio will be available for digital download on the same date.

This beautifully filmed concert features the band performing a host of their hits, spanning the length of their career, and is combined with an exclusive, previously unseen interview with Mick Hucknall.

The seeds of Simply Red were sown in Manchester in the early 1980s. Mick Hucknall had formed the punk band Frantic Elevators and, after they disbanded, he put the first Simply Red incarnation together. Simply Red introduced themselves to the world in 1985 with the hit single "Money's Too Tight (To Mention)," a Valentine Brothers cover taken from their debut album 'Picture Book' which also featured the U.S. number one "Holding Back The Years." They went on to release a further nine critically acclaimed and commercially successful studio albums, reaching sales of more than 50 million.

Propelled by Hucknall's voice and passion, Simply Red are unique among their peers and have an ability to effortlessly glide between their own highly original material and totally exceptional covers of other people's songs that suddenly become their own. During the course of their career, they played 1100 concerts and performed in front of more than eleven million people. They have been awarded three Brit Awards, two Ivor Novello Awards, the MOBO Special Achievement Award, and a World Music Award.

SIMPLY RED: Farewell - Live In Concert At Sydney Opera House

(CD/DVD; digital audio)
CD/digital audio
1. Out On The Range
2. Your Mirror
3. Heaven
4. Enough
5. For Your Babies
6. You Make Me Feel Brand New
7. If You Don't Know Me By Now
8. It's Only Love
9. Sunrise
10. Come To My Aid
11. The Right Thing
12. Money's Too Tight (To Mention)
13. Stars
14. Fairground
15. Something Got Me Started
16. Holding Back The Years
1. Out On The Range
2. Your Mirror
3. Jericho
4. Heaven
5. To Be With You
6. Enough
7. For Your Babies
8. You Make Me Feel Brand New
9. If You Don't Know Me By Now
10. It's Only Love
11. Sunrise
12. Come To My Aid
13. Fake
14. The Right Thing
15. Money's Too Tight (To Mention)
16. Ain't That A Lot Of Love
17. Stars
18. Fairground
19. Something Got Me Started
20. Holding Back The Years

Preview and Purchase Simply Red CDs

Simply Red MP3 Downloads



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.