The Byrds, Sam Cooke, Stan Getz and Return To Forever Box Sets Coming

Legacy Recordings is launching their new Complete Albums Collection series on May 24th with comprehensive boxed sets of original album catalogs by The Byrds, Sam Cooke, Stan Getz and Return To Forever.

The Complete Albums Collection series will showcase new releases throughout the year, offering music fans and collectors the chance to own classic discographies on CD (with many out of print and rare titles) in 5x5 minijacket reproductions of the original album cover art, a stand-alone booklet with discographical information and photos, all housed in a beautifully packaged clamshell box.

Upcoming artists in The Complete Albums Collection will include some of Sony Music's most notable artists and many their most pivotal recordings.

The Byrds - The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (13 CDs)

(MSRP - $99.98 // D2C - $79.99)

1. Mr. Tambourine Man

2. Turn! Turn! Turn!

3. Fifth Dimension

4. Younger Than Yesterday

5. The Notorious Byrd Brothers

6. Sweetheart of the Rodeo (2 CD Legacy Edition)

7. Dr. Byrds and Mr. Hyde

8. Ballad of Easy Rider

9. (Untitled)/(Unissued) (2CDs)

10. Byrdmaniax

11. Farther Along

During their original 19651971 lifespan, the Byrds were one of rock's most consistently inventive and influential bands, embodying the '60s ideals of restless experimentation and creative risk-taking. Through a lengthy series of artistic evolutions and personnel shifts, the Byrds maintained their place on rock's cutting edge, with founding visionary Roger McGuinn joined over the years by such legendary figures as Gene Clark, David Crosby, Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons and Clarence White. The musicians' diverse talents combined to produce one of rock's richest and most rewarding album catalogs. The Complete Columbia Albums Collection includes CD expanded edition versions of all 11 original Columbia albums released by the Byrds between 1965 and 1971, including numerous rarities and unreleased tracks, each individual album packaged in a replica mini-LP sleeve reproducing that album's original cover art and a booklet containing historic photos and track-by-track annotation by veteran journalist Johnny Rogan, author of the definitive Byrds biography Timeless Flight.

Sam Cooke - The RCA Albums Collection (8 CDs)

(MSRP - $89.98 // D2C - $71.99)

1. Cooke's Tour

2. Hits of the '50s

3. Swing Low

4. My Kind of Blues

5. Twistin' the Night Away

6. Mr. Soul

7. Night Beat

8. One Night Stand

Sam Cooke is widely regarded as the first and greatest soul singer, and as one of the most important figures in modern American music. His good looks, personal charisma and golden voice made him a superstar in the 1950s, winning him an unprecedented crossover appeal. Although he died in 1964 at the age of 33, Sam Cooke produced a remarkably accomplished body of work in his short life. This box set celebrates that rich musical legacy, collecting eight of his greatest albums, six of which have never before been released on CD in the United States. This collection charts Sam Cooke's remarkable musical evolution, and stands as a powerful testament to his timeless talent. The RCA Albums Collection includes the most complete package to date of Sam Cooke's '60s albums: Six of the eight albums in this set have never been released on CD in the U.S. and each individual album is packaged in a replica mini-LP sleeve reproducing that album's original cover art.

Return To Forever - The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (5 CDs)

(MSRP - $59.98 // D2C - $44.99)

1. Romantic Warrior (1976)

2. Musicmagic (1977)

3-5. Return To Forever Live (1977) [3 CDs]
Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, announces the first four artists to be featured in The Complete Albums Collection, a new product line for serious music fans and enthusiasts, available exclusively through PopMarket.com beginning Tuesday, May 24.

Founded by jazz keyboardist Chick Corea, Return To Forever was one of the prime movers of the electric fusion that literally rocked the jazz world in the 1970s. With Corea, who'd played with Miles Davis on In A Silent Way and Bitches Brew, and bassist Stanley Clarke at its core, Return To Forever hit its commercial zenith with Romantic Warrior, the group's Columbia Records debut, and sustained an aesthetic peak through the under-rated Musicmagic and the epic swan song Return To Forever Live.

Stan Getz - The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (8 CDs)
(MSRP - $89.98 // D2C - $71.99)
1. Captain Marvel (1972) w/ Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke, Tony Williams
2. Stan Getz/Joao Gilberto: The Best Of Two Worlds (1975)
3. The Master (1975)
4. Stan Getz/ Jimmy Rowles: The Peacocks (1975)
5. Another World JG 35513
6. Children Of The World
7. Forest Eyes (music composed, arranged & conducted by Jurre Haanstra) CBS (Holland)
8. Bonus Disc (U.S. Only): includes selections from Woody Herman Carnegie
Carnegie Hall 40th Anniversary Concert, Montreux Summit, and Havana Jam.

Preview and Purchase Byrds CDs

Byrds MP3 Downloads



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.