The Hold Steady Frontman Going Solo

The Hold Steady frontman Craig Finn has set a January 24 release date for his debut solo album, 'Clear Heart Full Eyes,' on Vagrant Records.

Earlier this year, Finn challenged himself to write a new song every day in his Brooklyn apartment. "I had written a bunch of songs that were outside of the norm for The Hold Steady, a little quieter and perhaps more narrative," says Finn. "I wanted to gain some experience and insight into the process of making a record by working with new people."

Finn travelled to Austin, Texas in July, removing himself from all familiar surroundings to record the album with producer Mike McCarthy (Spoon, Trail of Dead). Of the album's title, Finn says, "It's a juxtaposed reference to 'Friday Night Lights,' a TV show that excited and moved me and also happened in Texas. Further, 'Clear Heart' signifies honesty and transparency, and 'Full Eyes' suggests experience."

2012 tour dates will be announced soon. For now, read Craig Finn's account of recording the album here.

'Clear Heart Full Eyes' Tracklist:
1). Apollo Bay
2). When No One's Watching
3). No Future
4). New Friend Jesus
5). Jackson
6). Terrified Eyes
7). Western Pier
8). Honolulu Blues
9). Rented Room
10). Balcony
11). Not Much Left Of Us

Craig Finn CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Craig Finn T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.