Limited Edition Elvis Costello Box Set Coming

UMe have set a December 6, 2011 release date for a new 3-disc (CD, DVD, 10" vinyl EP) live box set from Elvis Costello & the Imposters called 'The Return Of The Spectacular Spinning Songbook,' which recorded over a 2-night stand at The Wiltern in Los Angeles on May 11 and 12, 2011.

Limited to 1500 copies worldwide, each set is individually numbered with a special commemoration card personally signed by Elvis Costello.

The first disc is a CD recording culled from both nights' performances, shows which The Los Angeles Times said were "the kind of uniquely invigorating experience that warrants a buzzword all its own: inspiring."

The second disc is a DVD from Costello's show on May 12, 2011, including a special guest appearance by the Bangles. The DVD contains bonus footage including an alternate intro by Napoleon Dynamite (aka Elvis Costello), and behind-the-scenes moments captured with the Imposters—Steve Nieve, Davey Faragher and Pete Thomas—as well as extra performances not included in the main set of the show.

The third disc is a 10-inch vinyl EP with four songs only available in this set. The super deluxe package includes a 40-page hardcover book packed with candid and concert photos, a tour diary of Costello's musings from each tour stop, a 20" x 30" concert tour poster and a limited edition postcard. This collection is housed in a lavish box complete with a spinning replica of "The Spectacular Spinning Songbook" on the front cover.

"The Spectacular Spinning Songbook" made its first appearance in 1986 at the Beverly Theatre in Los Angeles during the "Costello Sings Again Tour." Earlier this year, Elvis Costello and the Imposters set out on The Revolver Tour and, for the first time in 25 years, Costello once again allowed his set-list to be chosen by "The Spectacular Spinning Songbook," a monumental game-show type wheel spun by select fans and featuring songs from his latest critically acclaimed release National Ransom, plus new renditions of hits, rarities and very unexpected covers. Expanded from its initial short run in the spring to encompass summer and fall dates, the tour was greeted by popular acclaim and rave notice across the country, with Rolling Stone reporting, "Costello worked the stage like a burlesque-club emcee, cracking wise at a mile a minute and spinning a dandy's walking stick."

Since the super deluxe Elvis Costello & the Imposters: The Return Of The Spectacular Spinning Songbook!!! is a limited edition set, a single and double-disc version will be available next year.

• I Hope You're Happy Now
• Heart of the City (Nick Lowe)
• Mystery Dance
• Radio Radio
• Everyday I Write The Book
• God Give Me Strength
• Watching The Detectives
• Tear Off Your Own Head (It's A Doll Revolution) featuring Susanna Hoffs of the Bangles
• Out Of Time (Mick Jagger-Keith Richards)
• I Want You
• Stella Hurt
• All Grown Up
• Lipstick Vogue
• Man out of Time
• National Ransom
• (What's So Funny 'bout) Peace, Love and Understanding

Recorded Live at THE WILTERN, Los Angeles, CA, May 11 & 12, 2011

• I Hope You're Happy Now
• Heart Of The City (Nick Lowe)
• Mystery Dance
• Radio Radio
• Clubland
• God Give Me Strength
• Tear Off Your Own Head (It's A Doll Revolution) featuring Susanna Hoffs of the Bangles
• Out Of Time (Mick Jagger-Keith Richards)
• I Want You
• Everyday I Write The Book
• Stella Hurt
• A Slow Drag With Josephine
• Jimmie Standing In The Rain
• Alison
• Earthbound
• (What's So Funny 'bout) Peace, Love And Understanding

Bonus Tracks
• Uncomplicated
• Watching The Detectives
• Monkey To Man

Filmed Live at THE WILTERN, Los Angeles, CA, May 12, 2011

Side A:
• Pump it Up (6/8)
• Busted (Harlan Howard)

Side B:
• Brilliant Mistake
• Strict time

Elvis Costello CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Elvis Costello T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



News Reports
Day in Rock:
Robert Plant Talks Led Zeppelin 50th Anniversary Celebration- Jimi Hendrix Previously-Unreleased Track Streaming- Foo Fighters Brit Awards Performance Streaming Online- more

Stone Temple Pilots Stream New Song The Art Of Letting Go- Judas Priest Preview New Song Traitors Gate- The Monkees Stars Reuniting For Tour- Halestorm, In This Moment Tour- more

Eagles Add More New Dates To North American Tour- Billy Corgan Reveals New Smashing Pumpkins' Song Details- Foreigner Announce Live Orchestra Tour Dates- more

KISS Spark Retirement Speculation With The End Of The Road Move- Slipknot Star Says He Will Never Go Back On Tour Again- Foreigner Announce Very Special Release- more

Page Too:
Quincy Jones Apologizes for Shocking Interview Comments- Ed Sheeran Addresses Secret Marriage Rumors- Maroon 5 Headlining NFL Hall of Fame Legends Concert- more

Migos, Arcade Fire, James Bay Going 'Saturday Night Live'- Rihanna Looks Back And Thanks Mother As She Turns 30- Carrie Underwood Donates $10K To Injured Police Officer- more

Ed Sheeran Sparks Secret Wedding Speculation- Former One Direction Star Zayn Malik Previews New Music- Kesha Forced To Postpone Shows Due To Concert Fall Injury- more

Drake's Generous Money Giveaway All Part Of 'God's Plan'- Troy Gentry's Widow Sues Over Husband's Death- The Chainsmokers Release 'You Owe Me' Video- Demi Lovato Unplugs- more


Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.