Previously Unreleased Ernie Kovacs Album Coming

On June 19th Omnivore Recordings are set to release (42 years after it was recorded in 1960) the previously lost "Ernie Kovacs: Percy Dovetonsils....Thpeaks"!

Available on CD, digital and lavender colored vinyl LP (!), this album features the original 16 tracks plus an additional 6 bonus tracks of material from the television show "Kovacs Unlimited" from 1952-1954. These tracks are available for the first time since air.

The vinyl release will be limited to 1000 copies pressed on limited edition lavender vinyl, with future pressings to be made available on black vinyl thereafter.

Percy Dovetonsils Thpeaks is a collection featuring bits from Kovacs gentle, martini drinking, lisping, fey poet who became ripe fodder for a comedy album in the late 1950s. A fan favorite on his television shows, this album was recorded for an independent record label in 1960 before legal entanglements shelved the project until the 1970s. The reel had been mislabeled and was discovered recently by archivist Ben Model. After hearing Kovacs discuss the record in a CBC Canada television interview, Model was able to piece together the mislabeled tape and realized its current value.

Ernie Kovacs left behind the recordings and files of information for Thpeaks, including an artist's mock-up of the album cover. On the tape Kovacs says at the end of the recording session "Now, with 88 bars of music between each line, it'll come out even!" Taking that statement to heart, Ben Model (also a leading silent film accompanist) composed and recorded a befitting piano score, and Percy Dovetonsils finally gets to "thpeak." Model also provides the liner notes accompanying the LP and CD versions.

The album will appeal to Kovacs fans who have demonstrated their continuing interest in the iconic comedian by purchasing large numbers of the recently released 6-DVD box set, The Ernie Kovacs Collection and 'best of' DVD release, The ABC Specials.

Bonus tracks are taken from audio-only acetates of television recordings from Kovacs Unlimited, a network television show that ran from 1952- 1954.

This release is a continuation of the Ernie Kovacs revival which began last year on DVD with "The Ernie Kovacs Collection" and continues this year with the follow-up, "The ABC Specials" on DVD

1. Intro
2. Ode To Stanley's Pussycat
3. Ode To Mona Lisa
4. Lament From A Germ's Eye Viewpoint
5. Ode To The Happier Days of the Roman Coliseum
6. Ode To Whistler's Mother
7. Thoughts While Falling Off the Empire State Building
8. Side One Closing
9. Some Pertinent Thought of Julius Caesar While He Was Being Assassinated
10. Ode to am, The Taller of the Two Monkeys
11. Ode To A Housefly
12. Oder TO An Emotional Italian Knight
13. Happy Birthday To A Bookwork
14. The Night Before Christmas On New York's Fashionable East Side
15. Cowboy
16. Side Two Close
17. Roughing It (bonus track from Kovacs Unlimited)
18. A Day At The Races (bonus track from Kovacs Unlimited)
19. Ode From A Worm's Eye View (bonus track from Kovacs Unlimited)
20. Ode To A Hangman's Noose (bonus track from Kovacs Unlimited)
21. At Home With Lorelei Latour (bonus track from Kovacs Unlimited)
22. Poem for Edith Adams (bonus track from Kovacs Unlimited)

Ernie Kovacs CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Ernie Kovacs T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.