Axe Release Axeology

Earlier this week Deadline Music released Axeology 1979-2001, a 2-CD collection memorializes more than 20 years of the classic hard rock band, Axe.

Formed in Florida in 1979, the original Axe lineup included keyboardist Edgar Riley, guitarists Bobby Barth and Michael Osborne, bassist Mike Turpin, and drummer Teddy Mueller.

The band's self-titled debut on MCA Records quickly earned attention in the rock community, but it wasn't until the third album Offering (on Atco) in 1982 that Axe hit the big time with the anthemic "Rock 'n' Roll Party In The Streets." New bassist Wayne Haner was added to the band for the album and subsequent tours with Motley Crue, The Scorpions, Judas Priest, Ozzy Osbourne and Iron Maiden. Sadly, while supporting a fourth album on tour with KISS, Michael Osborne was killed in a car crash which seriously injured Bobby Barth, and the band soon dissolved.

Reformed Axe over the years recorded and toured, and included musicians such as Zappa vocalist Bob Harris, Edgar Riley Jr. on keyboards, Teddy Mueller on drums and bassist Blake Eberhard.

Axelogy contains 36 songs that chronicle the progression of the band from local rockers from the southeast to a progressive power band that toured the world, from the biggest hit to select cuts from the first two studio albums. The liner notes were written by Barth, and the packaging includes original LP sleeve artwork, rare photos and more.

1. Life's Just An Illusion
2. Hang On
3. Sympathize
4. Forever
5. Back On The Streets
6. Battles
7. Living On The Edge
8. Fantasy Of Love
9. First Time, Last Time
10. Carry On
11. Running The Gauntlet
12. For A Little While
13. Rock 'n' Roll Party In The Streets*
14. Steal Another Fantasy*
15. Jennifer*
16. Burn The City Down*
17. Now Or Never*
18. Holdin' On*
19. Silent Soldiers*
20. BONUS TRACK: Bad Sometimes

1. Heat In The Streets*
2. Young Hearts*
3. All Through The Night*
4. Eagle Flies Alone*
5. Let The Music Come Back*
6. Masquerade*
7. Magic (In Our Eyes)
8. Heroes and Legends
9. Burn Me Once Burn Me Twice
10. Where There's Smoke, There's Fire
11. Any Place On This Highway (Is Home)
12. The Crown
13. Good Times
14. Torturous Game
15. Foolish Deception
16. BONUS TRACK: No Heroes
*Re-Recorded Versions

Axe CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Axe T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.