Breton Release Free EP

(Shaker Maker) Breton have released a free five-song album, The Blanket Rule EP, which features four new songs that will not be included on their forthcoming album.

Their debut LP, Other People's Problems, will be released on April 3 by FatCat Records and the free EP can be downloaded here.

The four new tracks were culled from the same writing and recording sessions of the band's forthcoming debut LP. In characteristic form the songs were constructed from a variety of found sounds, field recordings and unconventional recording methods. Opening track "Ordnance Survey" for instance consists of a synth that was put through a speaker that the band intentionally broke and guitars that were recorded in the vault of the abandoned bank the fivesome lives and records in.

"The Well" was the first single the band released. "We found an old electric organ in one of the rooms of our bank/squat, which is the main sample you hear, and started by pitch shifting it," explains frontman Roman Rappak. 'It was totally broken and every key made the same sound."

The Blanket Rule EP is an introduction and glimpse into the inscrutable world of Breton. The multimedia collective is all about audio and audio-video autopsy; deconstructing and reconstructing popular culture. They take disparate elements from a variety of genres, chop them up, and use the parts to build darkly exhilarating songs that are as moody and gripping as they are melodic.

Breton CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Breton T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.