Down Plan First New Music Release in 5 Years and Touring

Big news for fans of Down, the group have set a September 18th release date for Down IV Part I - The Purple EP, their first body of new material in five years. And that's only the beginning!

The six song EP is the first in a series of four EP's planned for release over the next year. Down, which includes Philip Anselmo (Pantera) on vocals, Pepper Keenan (C.O.C.) on lead guitars, Kirk Windstein (Crowbar) on guitar, Jimmy Bowery (Eye Hate God) on drums, and Pat Brudners (Crowbar), the newest addition to the line-up, on bass, will kick off a string of tour dates on release day, beginning in Fort Worth, TX, and ending October 2 in Charlotte, NC.

Self-produced and recorded at Nodfertu's Lair, located at Anselmo's New Orleans home, Down IV Part I - The Purple EP is undeniably the product of the iconic collective that is Down, whose members origins span from Pantera, Corrosion of Conformity, Crowbar, and Eyehategod. Staggering riffs, thunderous drums, and Anselmo's inimitable delivery crush and captivate over the course of the collection's six songs. It's dark. It's dangerous. It's decisive. It's Down at their best.

"I do believe that we have delivered a record that will be accepted and hopefully enjoyed by the Down horde - if you will," says Anselmo. "If you're looking for a Down record, it's very pure and real."

Lyrically, the EP goes beyond just personal experiences, and explores themes that include the faith of mankind, the imperfection of mankind and cultural belief systems.

"Down gives me the platform to be poetic and paint imagery with lyrics," says Anselmo. "That's the approach I took. They complement the music and create an ominous feeling. Ultimately, when people consume the words, it's always their interpretation that matters. I could be image-conscious though when I wrote. It's not so gut level or street. The darker sh*t is some of my favorite."

With an album sales history totaling over 725k, these New Orleans natives are no strangers to success. Their legendary 1995 debut Nola is certified platinum, while Down II: A Bustle In Your Hedgerow (2002) and Down III (2007) remain fan and critical successes.

Down IV Part I - The Purple EP Track Listing:

1. Levitation
2. Witchtripper
3. Open Coffins
4. The Curse Is A Lie
5. This Work Is Timeless
6. Misfortune Teller

Tour Dates
9/18 - Fort Worth, TX @ Ridglea Theatre
9/19 - Tulsa, OK @ Cain's Ballroom
9/21 - Sauget, IL @ Pop's Nightclub
9/22 - Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
9/23 - Pontiac, MI @ The Crofoot
9/25 - Boston, MA @ House of Blues
9/26 - Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory
9/28 - New York, NY @ Best Buy Theatre
9/29 - Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
9/30 - Silver Spring, MD @ The Fillmore
10/2 - Charlotte, NC @ Tremont Music Hall

Down CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Down T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.