Classic Stray Cats Performance Coming to DVD

Eagle Rock will be releasing Stray Cats' Live At Montreux 1981 on DVD and Digital Video on November 6. Kayos sent over these details:

Newly restored with DTS Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 and Dolby Digital Stereo, this concert is comprised of 15 songs, almost equally divided between original compositions and vintage rockabilly classics from 1956 to 1961. Of the 15, nine were on the Stray Cats' first album, and some of the others were released as B-sides and EP tracks. A couple performed here have never appeared on official releases.

Live at Montreux 1981 displays how this trio of vocalist/guitarist Brian Setzer, upright bassist Lee Rocker and drummer Slim Jim Phantom single-handedly revived and restored the time-honored purity of real raucous rockabilly and brought it back into the forefront of modern pop. The band did more to get a generation back into slapback bass and hiccupped vocals than any other band.

For many fans, the Stray Cats were their first taste of not only rockabilly music, but also the subculture around it: the cars, the dances, the fashion, and the style of original teenage rebellion.

When the Stray Cats rolled into Montreux, six months after the release of their self-titled debut album, they were coming off no less than three hit singles ("Rock This Town," "Stray Cat Strut," and "Runaway Boys"), a UK Top 10 album, and a string of headlining concerts. Relocating from New York City to London in 1980, just a year after their formation, with a tantalizing combination of covers and originals, performed with punk enthusiasm yet true to the genre's roots, they were an instant smash, garnering such high profile fans as Jeff Beck, Robert Plant, and members of the Rolling Stones. The crowd in Montreux reacted with near-hysterical excitement (inciting three encores); something rarely seen in what is usually a polite and reserved audience.

1) Sweet Love On My Mind
2) Double Talking Baby
3) Rumble In Brighton
4) My One Desire
5) Ubangi Stomp
6) Drink That Bottle Down
7) Storm The Embassy
8) Stray Cut Strut
9) Fishnet Stockings
10) Important Words
11) Rock This Town
12) Runaway Boys
13) Be Bop A Lula
14) Somethin' Else
15) Pretty Pretty Baby

Stray Cats CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Stray Cats T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.