Staind, Megadeth, Evanescence Members To Jam At Special Event

Megadeth's David Ellefson, Evanescence's Troy McLawhorn, Staind's Sal G and Pete Murray and Neil Godfrey of Lo-Pro will be performing together at a benefit event on April 24th.

The all-star jam is part of the release event for the movie "Battlefield of the Mind" and its soundtrack. The film is narrated by Ellefson and was co-produced by Staind frontman Aaron Lewis.

The show will be headlined by Eye Empire which features Corey Lowery (Stuck Mojo /Stereomud /Dark New Day) and B.C. Kochmit (Switched) and Ryan Bennett (Texas Hippie Coalition) and military veteran Donald 'DC' Carpenter (Submersed).

It will all take place at Whisky A Go Go in Hollywood, CA on April 24, 2013, the same day of the film and soundtrack.

The event will benefit the Boot Campaign which assists wounded military and their families with job placement, mortgage free homes, PTSD counseling, adaptive clothing and so much more.

We were sent the following details about the event, the film and the soundtrack: The event will open at 7:00pm with filmmaker and participant interaction, exclusive look at the documentary, and Q&A. At 8:30pm the doors will re-open for the all-star jam and performance from Eye Empire.

Tickets are $20 for full access, $15 for performance only.To purchase tickets and RSVP go here.

The Documentary: Narrated by David Ellefson (Megadeth), Co-produced by Aaron Lewis (Staind), this documentary by Fran Strine takes on a tragic truth – that those men that put their lives on the line to defend our freedom have come home to a world plagued by PTSD and homelessness. 1 in 7 homeless adults are veterans and over ¼ of homeless veterans suffer from mental illness, physical illness and substance abuse at the same time.

These sad truths moved a concerned public to donate en masse to get the film made leading to a rousing Kickstarter success. The film raised 190% of its funding goal with the soundtrack raising 120% of its funding goal. The film is currently available on CHILL (chill.com/botm) and will see its official physical release along with its soundtrack on April 24th.

"After engaging in conversations with these veterans living on the streets and hearing their stories, I knew this was the documentary I had to make and show that we, as citizens can make a difference," says director and co-producer Fran Strine. The VA was approved $1.35 billion for the homeless in 2013 – a mere 0.035% of the $8.3 trillion US budget, says The White House Office of Management & Budget. Forbes adds that providing permanent housing for the chronic homeless would save taxpayers $3 billion.

The soundtrack for the film features members of many prominent rock bands. DC of Eye Empire, a former soldier himself, said of his band's involvement, "I have always been sensitive to issues that face our troops Stateside & abroad. When our good friend Fran mentioned that he and Aaron were going to be making this film and that he would like for us to be involved with the music, we were very humbled." Vocalist, Pete Murray (previously of Ultraspank) called working with the likes of Ellefson and Mike Mushok of Staind "…an amazing experience. Working with other musicians with different backgrounds and influences has been an incredible opportunity."

In addition to his narration duties, Megadeth's David Ellefson contributed to the soundtrack. He explains the synergy between the music and the film, "Lyrically these songs were inspired directly by the film and the people portrayed in it. In many ways, the Soundtrack continues the narrative of the film in music form. I am proud that the songs and people involved in making them took the subject matter to heart and used it as the springboard for our songwriting." Composing score and soundtrack music was a labor of love for Staind's Mike Mushok. "In writing music to the film, I got to watch a scene and express how I feel about it by writing music to it," explains Mushok. "It was something that I really enjoyed doing and am happy with the way it ultimately turned out."

Spread the information about the plight of these veterans by purchasing the film and soundtrack and sharing it with your friends and family. Information is power and "Battlefield Of The Mind" is the ultimate ammunition in battling veteran homelessness and PTSD.

The Soundtrack Track listing:
1. War Isn't Over Yet - Eye Empire
2. Give Me Life - LoPro
3. Tear It Down - Feat. Mike Mushok, Pete Murray, David Ellefson & Sal G.
4. Wake of War - Feat. Troy McLawhorn, D.C., Mike Mushok, Corey Lowery & Mike Froedge
5. No Words - Feat. Mike Mushok, Pete Murray, David Ellefson & Sal G.
6. Not Like You - Feat. Troy McLawhorn, Pete Murray & Mike Froedge
7. When - Life on planet 0
8. Witness - Viasava
9. Drop us in hell - Feat. Sal G & Joseph Dougherty
10. Awakening - When earth awakes
11. Wake up - Feat. Michael Benedetto & Keith Caro
12. Save me - Feat. Michael Benedetto & Keith Caro
13. Ask McFly - The Dreaded Marco
14. Hollow Destination - Otan Vargas

Battlefield of the Mind CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Battlefield of the Mind T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.