Kenny Rogers, Bobby Bare, Jack Clement For Country Hall Of Fame

(Radio.com) The Country Music Association announced yesterday that Kenny Rogers, Bobby Bare, and 'Cowboy' Jack Clement will be the newest members of the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Grand Ole Opry host and Hall of Fame member "Whisperin'" Bill Anderson presided over the announcement at a ceremony Wednesday morning in Nashville, along with the CMA president Steve Moore and Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum director Kyle Young.

Considered the highest honor in the genre, the Hall of Fame includes such legends as Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers, the Carter Family, Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn, and Dolly Parton. Last year's inductees were Garth Brooks, Hargus "Pig" Robbins, and Connie Smith.

As Young noted during his introduction, all three of this year's honorees were born in the 1930s during the Great Depression and country music's formative years.

They have seen the genre grow and develop quite a bit since then, from the honky-tonk era through "the birth or rock and roll" and on up to "the rise of sophisticated pop country" today. more on this story

Radio.com is an official news provider for antiMusic.com.
Copyright Radio.com/CBS Local - Excerpted here with permission.

Kenny Rogers CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Kenny Rogers T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.