The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

Fans of The Who will be receiving an early Christmas present from the legendary rock group on November 11th in the UK and November 12th in North America when they release massive Deluxe and Super Deluxe editions of their famed album "Tommy."

The reissues of the classic 1969 album will include 20 unreleased demos, a never before released full live performance of Tommy and the super deluxe box set version will feature 5.1 surround sound mix in the new Hi Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray format, according to the band.

The unreleased demos come from Pete Townshend's personal music archive and the live Tommy performance was captured when Townshend asked the band's sound engineer to record the band live back in 1969.

Eighteen of the twenty-one tracks were recording during The Who's October 15th 1969 performance at the Capital Theatre, in Ottawa, Canada. According to the announcement, the performances of the other three songs, "I'm Free," "Tommy's Holiday Camp" and "We're Not Gonna Take It" were not captured at that show due to changes of the reel to reel tape. The versions on the new release come from later shows that took place during the same "era."

The live recordings stand out because they are not supposed to exist. Townshend covered the tapes in his autobiography and explained that the tapes were supposed to have been destroyed, but luckily for fans, the band's long time soundman Bob Pridden disobeyed the orders and kept the tapes.

The original album has been remastered for these reissues and the super deluxe box set version will also include an 80 page full-color hard cover book with rare photos and more.

Amazon is already taking preorders for both editions. You can get the Super Deluxe Edition here and the Deluxe Edition here.

The Who released the following Tracklist And Further Information

Super-Deluxe Edition

Disc 1 The original album (2013 re-master)
Digitally re-mastered in HD

Disc 2 The demos and out-takes
Features 20 previously unreleased tracks from Pete Townshend's demo archive.

Disc 3 The 5.1 album mix Hi Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray
The complete album remixed in surround sound on new Hi Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray format

Disc 4 The live 'bootleg' album
Features 21 previously-unreleased tracks from various live shows from 1969

Hardback 80-page full-colour book featuring rare period photos and memorabilia

20,000-word essay by legendary Who aficionado Richard Barnes

Rare facsimile Tommy poster

Limited edition, housed in a hard-back deluxe slip-case

Disc 1 The original album (2013 re-master)

1. Overture 5.20
2. It's A Boy 0.38
3. 1921 2.49
4. Amazing Journey 5.04
5. Sparks 2.05
6. The Hawker (Eyesight To The Blind) 2.13
7. Christmas 4.34
8. Cousin Kevin 4.05
9. The Acid Queen 3.34
10. Underture 10.01
11. Do You Think It's Alright? 0.24
12. Fiddle About 1.29
13. Pinball Wizard 3.01
14. There's A Doctor 0.23
15. Go To The Mirror! 3.47
16. Tommy Can You Hear Me? 1.35
17. Smash The Mirror 1.34
18. Sensation 2.25
19. Miracle Cure 0.12
20. Sally Simpson 4.10
21. I'm Free 2.39
22. Welcome 4.32
23. Tommy's Holiday Camp 0.57
24. We're Not Gonna Take It 7.06

Disc 2 Demos & extras
1. Overture 4:07
2. It's A Boy 0:41
3. 1921 3:13
4. Amazing Journey 4:47
5. Dream One 3:09
6. Sparks 7:38
7. The Hawker 4:45
8. Christmas 4:42
9. Acid Queen 3:35
10. Underture (Dream Two) 1:47
11. Do You Think It's Alright 0:26
12. Pinball Wizard 3:42
13. There's A Doctor 0:24
14. Go To The Mirror! 4:32
15. Success 0:10
16. Tommy Can You Hear Me 1:15
17. Smash The Mirror 1:37
18. Sensation 2:47
19. Miracle Cure 0:11
20. Sally Simpson 4:50
21. I'm Free 2:27
22. Welcome 3:26
23. We're Not Gonna Take It 5:02
24. Trying To Get Through 2:27
25. Young Man Blues 2:47

Tracks 1 23 - Pete Townshend original demos.
All previously unreleased except 2, 11 and 12 released in 2003
Track 24 The Who studio demo/out-take.
Track 25 The Who studio recording (NOTE: This version was previously only available on 'The House That Track Built' vinyl sampler).

Disc 3 Hi Fidelity Pure Audio -Blu-ray disc (5.1 mixes)
Overture 5.20
It's a boy 0.37
1921 2.49
Amazing journey 5.05
Sparks 2.05
The Hawker 2.14
Christmas 4.34
Cousin Kevin 4.07
The acid queen 3.34
Underture 10.05
Do you think it's alright? 0.25
Fiddle about 1.31
Pinball wizard 3.01
There's a doctor 0.24
Go to the mirror! 3.48
Tommy can you hear me? 1.35
Smash the mirror 1.33
Sensation 2.27
Miracle cure 0.12
Sally Simpson 4.11
I'm Free 2.39
Welcome 4.32
Tommy's holiday camp 0.57
We're not gonna take it 7.06

Disc 4 Live Bootleg

1. Overture (including Introduction) 7.00
2. It's A Boy 0.39
3. 1921 2.28
4. Amazing Journey 5.07
5. Sparks 2.49
6. The Hawker (Eyesight To The Blind)1.54
7. Christmas 3.11
8. The Acid Queen 3.30
9. Pinball Wizard 2.47
10. Do You Think It's Alright? 0.21
11. Fiddle About 1.12
12. Tommy Can You Hear Me? 0.55
13. There's A Doctor 0.24
14. Go To The Mirror! 3.22
15. Smash The Mirror 1.10
16. Miracle Cure 0.12
17. Sally Simpson 4.01
18. I'm Free 2.12
19. Tommy's Holiday Camp 0.48
20. We're Not Gonna Take It 3.28
21. See Me, Feel Me / Listening To You 7.51

Other Formats Of The Who's Tommy Deluxe Edition


2-CD deluxe, digi-pak
CD 1 Original album remastered
CD 2 Live Bootleg

1-CD remastered version
Original album (single disc)

Deluxe vinyl edition
2-piece, heavyweight
Original LP configuration

UVINYL Website
Exclusive vinyl version of live 'bootleg' album

Hi Fidelity Pure Audio (Blu-ray)
'Stand-alone' original album mixed in 5.1

Digital Formats
Super-deluxe box set
Tracks from SDE box, excluding 5.1 mixes
+ MFiT version (iTunes only)

Digital deluxe edition
'Mirror' of 2-CD physical
+ MFiT version (iTunes only)

Digital album (original album)
Mirror' of 1-CD physical
+ MFiT version (iTunes only)

Who CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Who T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.