The Cure In A Box

11-13-03 Keavin
Fans of The Cure will have a very happy new year. The classic goth-rock band plans to unearth a four-disc rarities and b-sides box set on January 27th. 

The set has been dubbed “Join the Dots: B-Sides and Rarities, 1978-2001 (The Fiction Years)" and will include 71 tracks collected from the group’s two and half decade long career. 

The band has previously released a collection of their singles and this new boxset will help round out collections for The Cure’s faithful legion of fans. 

The group’s frontman Robert Smith spoke with Rolling Stone about the boxset and why the band always concentrated on producing “good” b-sides. "When I was growing up, there were two types of artists," Smith told Rolling Stone. "The ones that cared enough to put something good on the B-side were instantly more respected with me  and my friends. Then there were the ones that put a cover on the B-side, or slapped something together that was filler. Even at that young age we saw through that cynicism."

The box set is broken up by era. The first disc will include b-sides from 1978-87. Disc two includes rarities and b-sides from 1987-92. Disc three will feature rare tracks and b-sides from 1992-96 and the final disc will include rarities from 1996-2001. 

The package will also include an eighty-page booklet with track-by-track commentary by Smith and they are also throwing in some previously unseen photographs.                            

That isn’t the end of rare stuff from The Cure. In the next year and a hald, the band plans to remaster and reissue their entire album catalog and include rare songs on each disc as bonus material. 

Those itching for a new studio album will have to wait until next summer. 

The Join the Dots track listing According to Rolling Stone:

Disc One:

10:15 Saturday Night
Plastic Passion
Pillbox Tales
Do the Hansa
I'm Cold
Another Journey by Train
Splintered in Her Head
Just One Kiss
The Dream
The Upstairs Room
Speak My Language
Mr. Pink Eyes
Happy the Man
Throw Your Foot
New Day
The Exploding Boy
A Few Hours After This
A Man Inside My Mouth
Stop Dead

Disc Two:

A Japanese Dream
A Chain of Flowers
Snow in Summer
Sugar Girl
Icing Sugar
Hey You!!! (Extended remix)
How Beautiful You Are
To the Sky
Out of Mind
2 Late
Fear of Ghosts
Hello I Love You
Hello I Love You (Slight Return mix)
Hello I Love You (Psychedelic Mix)
Harold and Joe
Just Like Heaven (Dizzy Mix)
Close to Me (Closest Mix)

Disc Three:

The Twilight Garden
Scared as You
The Big Hand
A Foolish Arrangement
Doing the Unstuck
Purple Haze (Live)
Purple Haze
Young Americans
Dredd Song
It Used to Be Me

Disc Four:

A Pink Dream
Strange Attraction (Strange Mix)
This Is a Lie (Ambient Mix)
Wrong Number (P2P Mix)
World in My Eyes
More Than This
Out of This World (Steve Osbourne and Paul Oakenfold Mix)
Maybe Someday (Acoustic Mix)
Coming Up
Signal to Noise (Acoustic)
Signal to Noise
Just Say Yes (Live, acoustic)
Just Say Yes (Curve Mix)
A Forest (Featuring Earl Slick)

more on The Cure

Preview and purchase music from The Cure