Traffic DVD

(press release) When sixties rock heroes Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi re-formed Traffic in 1994 for more than 75 unforgettable performances, a camera crew was right by their side, shadowing the group on its historic tour of the U.S. Eleven years later, that footage—shot on the tour bus, in the dressing room, and on the stage—has been combined to form the band's first ever live DVD: The Last Great Traffic Jam.

To be released on September 20th on Epic Records, The Last Great Traffic Jam follows band founders Winwood, Capaldi, and their four-piece backing band on Traffic's first tour of the U.S. in two decades.

Featuring a slew of candid and intimate footage shot backstage, on the tour bus, at soundcheck and in formal interviews, The Last Great Traffic Jam finds the band delivering such signature hits as "Low Spark" and "John Barleycorn," as well as other rare performances of Traffic songs never before captured on film including footage of the Grateful Dead's Jerry Garcia guesting on guitar during "Dear Mr. Fantasy," shot in July of 1994 at Chicago's Soldier Field.

Coming just six months after Capaldi's death (he passed away on Jan. 28, 2005), The Last Great Traffic Jam is a fitting tribute for the drummer, singer and songwriter, who cracks jokes throughout the in-between-song snippets. The raspy-voiced drummer sings lead on "Light Up" and duets at center stage with Winwood on "John Barleycorn."

The Last Great Traffic Jam chronicles the band's five-month tour supporting its 1994 reunion album, Far From Home, during which the band played more than 75 shows to more than 500,000 people. As well as footage from many of the tour's most notable stops—Woodstock '94, 10 shows with the Grateful Dead—the DVD follows the band from New York to Los Angeles, and includes footage of the band across the US.

Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in March of 2004, by Dave Matthews, Traffic was formed in 1967. Winwood and Capaldi together with Chris Wood (saxophones, flute and keyboard) and Dave Mason (guitar, bass, vocals, harmonica), shot to the forefront of the psychedelic rock movement of the late '60s with the album Mr. Fantasy and later after Dave Mason had left, the band continued to make breakthrough albums including John Barleycorn Must Die and The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys.

The Last Great Traffic Jam finds Winwood and Capaldi backed by a four-piece band featuring Rosko Gee on bass (a member of Traffic in 73-74), Randall Bramblett on sax, flute and keyboards, Walfredo Reyes Jr. on percussion and drums and Mike McEvoy on guitar and keyboards.

Dedicated to Jerry Garcia, Chris Wood, former Traffic percussionist Reebop Kwaku Baah and finally, as Winwood states, "To the man without whom Traffic could never be: my lifelong friend and partner, Jim Capaldi."

Track listing:
1. "Pearly Queen"
2. "Medicated Goo"
3. "Mozambique"
4. "40,000 Headmen"
5. "Glad"
6. "Walking In the Wind"
7. "Low Spark"
8. "Light Up"**
9. "Dear Mr. Fantasy"**
10. "John Barleycorn"*
11. "Gimme Some Lovin'"

*Featuring Jim Capaldi on vocals
** Featuring Jerry Garcia on guitar

More News for Traffic

Preview and Purchase Traffic music