Roadrunner All-Stars

(press release) Roadrunner Records has advanced in the process of putting together the groundbreaking "Roadrunner All-Stars" record to mark the label's 25th Anniversary. The full-length release will contain original musical collaborations between past and present Roadrunner artists. Approximately 50 musicians are expected to participate in this record, making it a most elaborate collaboration project.

Four central musicians have been chosen to produce and write all the songs. Previously announced were Joey Jordison (Slipknot), Dino Cazares (ex-Fear Factory/Brujeria) and Robert Flynn (Machine Head). The fourth writer/producer has recently been selected - 19 year-old metal prodigy Matt Heafy will take the lead of the fourth team. His band, Trivium, has been called ".the valedictorian(s) of the 2005 metal class" by Hit Parader Magazine. "It blew my mind to be asked to participate on this album and write a few tracks," says Heafy "It's an amazing honor to be able to record with artists that I used to emulate and listen to growing up." These four musicians will not only play on the songs they have written but also assemble a unique team of Roadrunner artists to appear on each track.

Notable progress has been made in Jordison's, Cazares' and Flynn's teams. Music has been laid down, but vocals have yet to be added. The vocalists for the tracks have not been confirmed as of yet. The artists that have contributed to the tracks recorded thus far are:

Rob Barrett (Malevolent Creation)
Matt Baumbach (Vision Of Disorder)
Dino Cazares (Fear Factory/Brujeria)
Steve DiGiorgio (Sadus)
Matt DeVries (Chimaira)
Marcelo Dias (Soulfly)
Robert Flynn (Machine Head)
Rhys Fulber (Fear Factory/Front Line Assembly)
Paul Gray (Slipknot)
Andols Herrick (Chimaira)
Steve Holt (36 Crazyfists)
Joey Jordison (Slipknot)
Andreas Kisser (Sepultura)
Logan Mader (Machine Head)
Roy Mayorga (Soulfly)
Dave McClain (Machine Head)
James Murphy (Obituary/Disincarnate)
Tommy Niemeyer (Gruntruck)
Nadja Peulen (Coal Chamber)
Dave Pybus (Cradle Of Filth)
Souren "Mike" Sarkisyan (Spineshank)
Acey Slade (Murderdolls)
Jeff Waters (Annihilator)
Jordan Whelan (Still Remains)
Christian Olde Wolbers (Fear Factory)

Further contributions to the album are also expected from:

Corey Beaulieu (Trivium)
Mike D'Antonio (Killswitch Engage)
Johnny Kelly (Type O Negative)
Andy LaRocque (King Diamond)
Tom Holkenberg (Junkie XL)
Josh Silver (Type O Negative)

Though no vocals have been recorded as yet, vocalists scheduled to appear on the album are:

Glen Benton (Deicide)
Keith Caputo (Life Of Agony)
Max Cavalera (Soulfly)
King Diamond (Mercyful Fate/King Diamond)
Dez Fafara (DevilDriver/Coal Chamber)
Dani Filth (Cradle Of Filth)
Matthew K. Heafy (Trivium)
Mark Hunter (Chimaira)
Howard Jones (Killswitch Engage)
Brock Lindow (36 Crazyfists)
Jesse Leach (ex-Killswitch Engage)
Daryl Palumbo (Glassjaw)
Peter Steele (Type O Negative)
John Tardy (Obituary)
Kyle Thomas (Exhorder/Floodgate)

The project is being overseen by longtime Roadrunner A&R man Monte Conner. "I feel like Dr. Frankenstein, combining various musicians to form all these different monsters," says Conner. "It's an incredible amount of work but I am having the time of my life doing it. In the end, it will sound like a cohesive record. So far, Joey, Robert and Dino have all really worked their asses off, taking this project as seriously as they would their own bands. I am quite indebted to them. They've all done an unbelievable job."

Mixing duties will be handled by legendary hard rock producer, Colin Richardson. The album is tentatively scheduled for release in the Fall of 2005.

Related News

Related Music