Audioslave Cuba Release Info

(Epic) This past May, Audioslave made international headlines by becoming the first American rock band to ever perform in U.S.-embargoed Cuba. More than 60,000 screaming fans stormed Havana's Anti-Imperialist Plaza to catch the May 6th show and the band didn't disappoint. The multi-Platinum, critically acclaimed band gave an absolutely electrifying performance, tearing through a free two-and-a-half hour show. The historic event is captured on the Epic/Interscope release LIVE IN CUBA, a deluxe 18-song double-disc package that includes a DVD featuring a 30-minute documentary, live concert footage and an additional TV special on the event, along with a bonus live CD taken from Audioslave's recent AOL Sessions performance. The set arrives in stores on October 11th.

Audioslave (driven by Chris Cornell's stirring vocals, Tom Morello's innovative guitar and the razor-sharp rhythm section of bassist Tim Commerford and drummer Brad Wilk) treated the packed-house crowd to a mix filled with hits from their multi-platinum-selling 2003 debut ("Cochise," "Like A Stone"), tracks from new album Out of Exile-which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200 Album chart--("Your Time Has Come," "Doesn't Remind Me"), and a few jaw-dropping surprises (Soundgarden's "Black Hole Sun," "Outshined," and "Spoonman," along with Rage Against the Machine's "Bulls On Parade"). It's worth noting that LIVE IN CUBA is the first and only recording to feature ex-Soundgarden vocalist Cornell and ex-Rage members Morello, Commerford and Wilk performing songs from their former bands.

The event was organized by the U.S. Treasury Department and the Instituto Cubano de la Musica and took place, ironically enough, in a plaza built five years ago as a place for mass protest against the US government. In a recent interview with Billboard, Morello recalled the monumental show. "We had no idea if it was going to be 70 people or 70,000," he said. "It turns out it was the latter-many of whom were clearly fans of the band. A lot of them were singing along, some were making a mosh pit, some were salsa-ing, some were pogo-ing. A lot of them just couldn't believe it was really happening."

LIVE IN CUBA will also be available in a single-DVD version that includes the documentary and 14 live tracks.

The full track listing for the deluxe edition is as follows:
1. Set It Off
2. Your Time Has Come
3. Like A Stone
4. Spoonman
5. The Worm
6. Gasoline
7. Heaven's Dead
8. Doesn't Remind Me
9. Be Yourself
10. Bulls On Parade
11. Sleep Now In The Fire
12. Out of Exile
13. Outshined
14. Shadow
15. Black Hole Sun
16. I Am The Highway
17. Show Me How To Live
18. Cochise

More News for Audioslave

Preview and Purchase Audioslave music