DVD Body Count

(Press Release) Eagle Rock Entertainment, the leading independent source for high quality music audio/visual programming, will release Smoke Out Presents: Body Count, a DVD presentation of a rare live performance from legendary rapper Ice-T's hardcore punk-thrash metal band. Body Count appeared for San Bernardino's Smoke Out Festival in 2003, in the wake of the worst fires in California history. The DVD arrives in stores on October 4.

Ice-T, who is also known for his work as an actor, including his role on NBC's "Law and Order: SVU," was already one of the most famous rappers in America when, in 1992, he unveiled Body Count. The band was his tribute to punk/metal bands like Motorhead and Suicidal Tendencies. Almost immediately following the release of their debut, Body Count was denounced by President George H.W. Bush and then-NRA chairman Charlton Heston due to the self-evident sentiments of the song "Cop Killer." During that election year, Ice's record label, Sire, severed all ties to the rapper.

But while he carried on in hip-hop, Ice would return to Body Count, releasing three more records through the '90s and '00s. If the band never made much of a dent after the "Cop Killer" controversy, Body Count's "gangsta-metal" was clearly influential on the likes of Korn and Limp Bizkit. [but BC didn't suck]

Shot in high definition and recorded in Stereo with 5.1 Surround Sound, the dvd runs 60 minutes and lists for $11.98. Body Count's Smoke Out appearance is incendiary despite technical problems and an unsympathetic stage crew. The crowd goes bananas when the band (and Ice's son Lil' Ice) launches into "Cop Killer" like it's 1992 all over again.

Track List:

1. "Body Count's in the House
2. "Body M/F Count"
3. "Masters of Revenge"
4. "Killin' Floor"
5. "Bowels of the Devil"
6. "KKK b*****"
7. "Drive By"
8. "End Game"
9. "There Goes The Neighborhood"
10. "Cop Killer"

More News for Body Count

Preview and Purchase Body Count music