Talking Heads Revisited

(Special Ops) Talking Heads’ eight pioneering albums defied easy musical categorization, and now, eleven years after David Byrne, Chris Franz, Tina Weymouth and Jerry Harrison’s last release together, Rhino Records is reissuing all 8 studio albums including the original album in remastered stereo plus rare bonus songs on the CD side. The DVD side contains the original album mixed in 5.1 Surround Sound, plus bonus audio and video content, lyrics and photos.

In addition to the hits “Burning Down the House,” “Take Me To The River,” “Road To Nowhere,” “Wild, Wild Life” and “Once In A Lifetime,” this deluxe sonic upgrade includes an impressive collection of previously unavailable bonus songs and videos. Unreleased highlights include an acoustic version of “Psycho Killer” mixed in 5.1 Surround Sound, a live 1976 video performance of “I Feel It In My Heart” recorded at The Kitchen in New York, alternate mixes of “The Big Country” and “Life During Wartime,” early versions of “And She Was” and “Road To Nowhere," a version of “Papa Legba,” featuring Pops Staples, several unfinished outtakes from the Remain In Light sessions, as well as music videos and German television performances.

Formed in the mid-’70s at the Rhode Island School of Design, Talking Heads were art school punks who made a name on the nascent punk scene at CBGBs before evolving into one of pop music’s most adventurous and influential bands. Talking Heads pioneered a polyrhythmic sound that barrowed from rock, funk, punk, world beat and avant-garde minimalism to create clever, experimental music embraced by radio audiences.

DualDisc Tracklisting
1. “Uh-Oh, Love Comes To Town”
2. “New Feeling”
3. “Tentative Decisions”
4. “Happy Day”
5. “Who Is It?”
6. “No Compassion”
7. “The Book I Read”
8. “Don’t Worry About The Government”
9. “First Week/Last Week…Carefree”
10. “Psycho Killer”
11. “Pulled Up”

Bonus Tracks
12. “Psycho Killer” – acoustic 5.1 mix*
13. “Uh-Oh, Love Comes To Town” – alternate 5.1 mix

Video Content
14. “Pulled Up” – Live at Sproul Plaza, Berkley, CA 1978*
15. “I Feel It In My Heart” – Live at The Kitchen, New York, NY, 1976*


DualDisc Tracklisting

1. “Thank You For Sending Me An Angel”
2. “With Our Love”
3. “The Good Thing”
4. “Warning Sign”
5. “The Girls Want To Be With The Girls”
6. “Found A Job”
7. “Artists Only”
8. “I’m Not In Love”
9. “Stay Hungry”
10. “Take Me To The River”
11. “The Big Country”

Bonus Tracks
12. “Stay Hungry” – 1977 version*
13. “I’m Not In Love” – alternate version*
14. “The Big Country” – alternate version*
15. “Thank You For Sending Me An Angel” – “Country Angel” version*

Video Content
16. “Found A Job” – Live at Entermedia Theatre, New York, NY 1978*
17. “Warning Sign” – Live at Sproul Plaza, Berkley, CA 1978*


DualDisc Tracklisting

1. “I Zimbra”
2. “Mind”
3. “Paper”
4. “Cities”
5. “Life During Wartime”
6. “Memories Can’t Wait”
7. “Air”
8. “Heaven”
9. “Animals”
10. “Electric Guitar”
11. “Drugs”

Bonus Tracks
12. “Dancing For Money” – unfinished outtake*
13. “Life During Wartime” – alternate version*
14. “Cities” – alternate version
15. “Mind” – alternate version*

Video Content
16. “Cities” – Rockpop German TV Appearance, 1980*
17. “I Zimbra” – Rockpop German TV Appearance, 1980*


DualDisc Tracklisting
1. “Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)”
2. “Crosseyed And Painless”
3. “The Great Curve”
4. “Once In A Lifetime”
5. “Houses In Motion”
6. “Seen And Not Seen”
7. “Listening Wind”
8. “The Overload”

Bonus Tracks
9. “Fela’s Riff” – unfinished outtake*
10. “Unison” – unfinished outtake*
11. “Double Groove” – unfinished outtake*
12. “Right Start” – unfinished outtake*

Video Content
13. “Crosseyed And Painless” – Rockpop German TV Appearance, 1980*
14. “Once In A Lifetime” – Rockpop German TV Appearance, 1980*


DualDisc Tracklisting
1. “Burning Down The House”
2. “Making Flippy Floppy”
3. “Girlfriend Is Better”
4. “Slippery People”
5. “I Get Wild/Wild Gravity”
6. “Swamp”
7. “Moon Rocks”
8. “Pull Up The Roots”
9. “This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody)”

Bonus Track
10. “Burning Down The House” – alternate 5.1 mix*

Video Content
11. “Burning Down The House” – music video, 1982*
12. “This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody)” – music video, 1983


DualDisc Tracklisting
1. “And She Was”
2. “Give Me Back My Name”
3. “Creatures Of Love”
4. “The Lady Don’t Mind”
5. “Perfect World”
6. “Stay Up Late”
7. “Walk It Down”
8. “Television Man”
9. “Road To Nowhere”

Bonus Tracks
10. “Road To Nowhere” – early version*
11. “And She Was” – early version*
12. “Television Man” – extended mix

Video Content
13. “And She Was” – music video, 1985
14. “Road To Nowhere” – music video, 1985


DualDisc Tracklisting

1. “Love For Sale”
2. “Puzzlin’ Evidence”
3. “Hey Now”
4. “Papa Legba”
5. “Wild Wild Life”
6. “Radio Head”
7. “Dream Operator”
8. “People Like Us”
9. “City of Dreams”

Bonus Track
10. “Papa Legba” – Pops Staples vocal version, 5.1 mix*

Video Content
11. “Wild Wild Life” – music video, 1986
12. “Love For Sale” – music video, 1986


DualDisc Tracklisting

1. “Blind”
2. “Mr. Jones”
3. “Ruby Dear”
4. “(Nothing But) Flowers”
5. “The Democratic Circus”
6. “The Facts Of Life”
7. “Mommy Daddy You And I”
8. “Big Daddy”
9. “Bill”
10. “Cool Water”

Bonus Track
11. “Sax And Violins” – 5.1 mix

Video Content
12. “Blind” – music video, 1988
13. “Sax And Violins” – music video, 1991

* previously unreleased

More News for Talking Heads

Preview and Purchase Talking Heads music