Pretenders Box

(Press Release) American expatriate Chrissie Hynde formed The Pretenders in 1978 while working in London and continues to be the band's driving force today. More than 25 years after the hard rocking quartet's original lineup-Hynde, guitarist James Honeyman Scott, bassist Pete Farndon and drummer Martin Chambers-launched the band's hit-making expedition, Rhino Records shivers ye timbers with PIRATE RADIO. The Pretenders' career-spanning boxed set includes four discs and a single DVD and is available March 14 at regular retail outlets for a suggested price of $74.98.

The collection-81 tracks and 19 videos-contains more than five hours of The Pretenders' best from all eight of the band's studio recordings plus soundtrack contributions and live recordings. PIRATE RADIO brings together the band's essential recordings with hard-to-find rarities and unreleased studio and live recordings. The DVD compiles the band's British television performances along with unreleased concert recordings from 1979-1995.

The Pretenders' musical evolution plays out over the course of PIRATE RADIO's four discs starting with the band's scrappy, early days in London-including a previously unreleased 1978 demo of "Precious" and the band's first two singles, "Stop Your Sobbing" and "The Wait." Starting in 1979, the band began a successful two-year run that included two albums and an EP-Pretenders (1979) and Pretenders II (1981) and Extended Play (1981)-that boasted some of the band's biggest hits such as "Brass In Pocket," "Message Of Love" and "I Go To Sleep."

The set also chronicles the aftermath of the heartbreaking losses of Honeyman Scott, who died in 1982, and Farndon, who died in 1983. Hynde returned in 1984 with Learning To Crawl, which featured the hits "Back On The Chain Gang," "Middle Of The Road," "Show Me" and "Thin Line Between Love And Hate." Two years later The Pretenders were back with Get Close, which included the hit "Don't Get Me Wrong." PIRATE RADIO also includes several unreleased session outtakes including "Tequila" from the Learning To Crawl sessions and "Worlds Within Worlds," Warren Zevon's "Reconsider Me" and an alternate version of "Hold A Candle To This" from the Get Close sessions. PIRATE RADIO also includes selections from Packed! (1990), Last Of The Independents (1994), The Isle Of View (1995), Viva El Amor! (1999) and Loose Screw (2002).

PIRATE RADIO also packs in music The Pretenders originally released on soundtracks and compilations, including the Burt Bacharach/Hal David-penned "Windows Of The World" from the 1969 soundtrack, a cover of Jimi Hendrix's "Bold As Love" from Stone Free: A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix, a cover of Morrissey's "Everyday Is Like Sunday" from the Boys On The Side soundtrack and a live cover of Radiohead's "Creep."

Text* 'PRETENDERS' to 74466 for Official Pretenders ringtones!"

*Requires compatible handset and service through participating carriers. Standard text messaging rates apply. See your contract for details. Available content subject to change at any time. 2006 Rhino".


Track Listing

Disc 1
1. "Precious" - Regent Park Demo*
2. "Stop Your Sobbing"
3. "The Wait" - Single Version
4. "Kid"
5. "Tattooed Love Boys"
6. "Mystery Achievement"
7. "Brass In Pocket"
8. "Porcelain"
9. "Talk Of The Town"
10. "Message Of Love"
11. "Cuban Slide"
12. "What You Gonna Do About It"
13. "The Adultress"
14. "Bad Boys Get Spanked"
15. "I Go To Sleep"
16. "Day After Day"
17. "Birds Of Paradise"
18. "The English Roses"
19. "Time The Avenger"
20. "Watching The Clothes" - Denmark Street Demo*
21. "Show Me"

Disc 2
1. "Back On The Chain Gang"
2. "Thumbelina"
3. "Thin Line Between Love And Hate"
4. "My City Was Gone"
5. "Middle Of The Road"
6. "Tequila"*
7. "2000 Miles"
8. "When I Change My Life" - Alternate Version*
9. "My Baby"
10. "Worlds Within Worlds"*
11. "Don't Get Me Wrong"
12. "Hymn To Her"
13. "Tradition Of Love"
14. "Room Full Of Mirrors"
15. "Reconsider Me"*
16. "Hold A Candle To This" - Alternate Version*
17. "Windows Of The World"
18. "Never Do That"
19. "No Guarantee"
20. "Not A Second Time"

Disc 3
1. "Sense Of Purpose"
2. "Downtown (Akron)"
3. "How Do I Miss You"
4. "Bold As Love"
5. "When Will I See You"
6. "Hollywood Perfume"
7. "Night In My Veins"
8. "977"
9. "All My Dreams"
10. "Angel Of The Morning" - Original Version*
11. "Money Talk"
12. "Rebel Rock Me"
13. "I'll Stand By You"
14. "Every Mothers' Son" - Demo*
15. "Love Colours"
16. "Private Life" - Live
17. "Lovers Of Today" - Live
18. "Creep" - Live
19. "Criminal" - Live
20. "Revolution" - Live

Disc 4
1. "Everyday Is Like Sunday"
2. "Human" - Class Mix
3. "Popstar"
4. "Back Down"*
5. "California"*
6. "The Needle And The Damage Done"
7. "From The Heart Down" - Alternate Version*
8. "Who's Who"
9. "Biker"
10. "Nails In The Road"
11. "Legalize Me"
12. "The Homecoming" - Live*
13. "Up The Neck" - Live*
14. "Fools Must Die" - Live*
15. "Nothing Breaks Like A Heart"
16. "Lie To Me"
17. "Complex Person"
18. "You Know Who Your Friends Are"
19. "I Should Of"
20. "The Losing"

1. "Talk of the Town"
2. "The Adultress"
3. "The Wait"
4. "Hollywood Perfume"
5. "Brass In Pocket"
6. "977"
7. "Never Do That"
8. "Thumbelina"
9. "2000 Miles"
10. "Night In My Veins"
11. "My City Was Gone"*
12. "Tattooed Love Boys"
13. "Middle of the Road"
14. "Don't Ge Me Wrong"
15. "Criminal"
16. "Room Full of Mirrors"
17. "Louie, Louie"
18. "Stop Your Sobbing"
19. "Tattooed Love Boys/Up the Neck"

* previously unreleased

More News for Pretenders

Preview and Purchase Pretenders music



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.