The Songs of Halloween

(antiMusic) The tracklisting for Rob Zombie's remake of the horror classic Halloween has been released. The disc is a classic rock fan's wet dream with tracks from Blue Oyster Cult, Nazareth, Rush, Peter Frampton, BTO, KISS, Iggy Pop, Alice Cooper, The Misfits and more.

Here is part of the "official" announcement: Halloween rocks as writer/director Rob Zombie unleashes his terrifying remake of the classic film Halloween. Halloween: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Hip-O/UMe), released August 21, 2007, precedes the premiere of the film on more than 2,000 screens on August 31.

Halloween is a trick-or-treat goodie bag of audio clips from the film and ‘70s arena rock that turns sinister when heard in the film. From Nazareth’s “Love Hurts” (Top 10, 1976) and Peter Frampton’s “Baby I Love Your Way” (Top 20, 1975) to Iggy Pop’s live version of “1969” (1969), Alice Cooper’s “Only Women Bleed” (Top 20, 1975), Rush’s “Tom Sawyer” (1981) and Blue Oyster Cult’s “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” (Top 20, 1976), Zombie mixes the expected with the surprising, just as he does with the film itself. Also included is composer Tyler Bates’ (Dawn Of The Dead, The Devil’s Rejects, Slither, 300) remake of John Carpenter’s iconic “Halloween” now titled “Halloween 2007.”

01. Dialogue ("These Are The Eyes")
02. Halloween Theme 2007- Tyler Bates
03. Dialogue ("Is The Boogieman Real?")
04. Don't Fear The Reaper- Blue Oyster Cult
05. Dialogue ("Are You Saying Michael Did This?")
06. Love Hurts- Nazareth
07. Dialogue ("I Hope She Likes Cripples")
08. Baby, I Love Your Way- Peter Frampton
09. Dialogue ("A Taco Deluxe Supreme")
10. Tom Sawyer- Rush
11. Dialogue ("Driven By Pure Animal Instinct")
12. Let It Ride- Bachman-Turner Overdrive
13. Dialogue ("Trick Or Treat, Baby")
14. God Of Thunder- KISS
15. Dialogue ("Satan's Mother")
16. 1969- Iggy Pop
17. Dialogue ("Talking About The Anti-Christ")
18. Only Women Bleed- Alice Cooper
19. Dialogue ("Needs To Get Laid")
20. Halloween II- The Misfits
21. Dialogue ("Was That The Boogieman?")
22. The Shape Stalks Laurie - Tyler Bates
23. Dialogue ("The Scream")
24. Mr Sandman- Nan Vernon

* The clean version lacks the dialog tracks.

More News for Rob Zombie

Preview and Purchase Rob Zombie music