Wynonna Sings Standards

(PR) Wynonna will be releasing her 7th studio album in 2009, an eclectic assortment of standards paying homage to all the different genres and songs that have formed the soundtrack to her own life.

Produced by long time collaborators Don Potter and Brent Mahar and recorded at Sound Kitchen, The Blue Room Studios and East Iris Studios in Nashville, TN, this album, appropriately titled Sing, will be out February 3rd on Curb Records.

Boiling down 25 years of music and experiences into one 12 song collection is no easy feat. Wynonna, along with her producers Don Potter and Brent Mahar, spent a year and a half meticulously traversing her extensive musical background before settling on the 12 songs included on Sing. From the big band, swing feel of the opener “That’s How Rhythm Was Born,” to the swelling choruses on closing title track, “Sing,” Wynonna’s voice shines – a clear expression of the heart and soul she put into this record.

“During the last year I have started gravitating toward the past,” says Wynonna about the making of this record. “I have such an incredible history of these songs being played in the background while I’m living my life. So the whole album is a real cross-section of all the different genres I grew up with. It’s all me, its all part of the tapestry of who I am.”

On Sing, each and every song takes Wynonna back to a particular time and place in her life. For “Women Be Wise,” Wynonna reminisces of her teenage days being grounded for not doing chores, when she would sing this classic tune in her room at the top of her lungs, while “The House Is A Rockin’” takes her back to the memories of getting made-up for a night out while Jimmy and Stevie Ray Vaughan practiced in the kitchen. Then there’s the inclusion of the album’s standout ballad, “When I Fall In Love,” which is one of Wynonna’s top 5 favorite songs of all time. It’s an incredible mix of genres, with Wynonna’s powerhouse vocals transitioning effortlessly from each style to the next. The resulting culmination of music exudes a level of sophistication that can only come with having had these rich experiences throughout her life and legendary career.

“Wynonna worked really hard to bring her life and her passions into these songs and do them the justice they deserved,” Brent Mahar says, “And from the first track we recorded I think we all knew it was gonna be a really special endeavor." Co-producer Don Potter echoes that sentiment, saying, “As long as there is something to fly on she'll fly fast. This album is full of those songs that lift your heart and carry you.”

Sing is a truly stunning anthology – a compilation of Wynonna’s diverse musical roots and a time capsule of some of the milestone moments from throughout her life and career that have provided motivation to the queen of inspiration herself.

Track Listing:

1. That’s How Rhythm Was Born (The Boswell Sisters)
2. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry (Hank Williams)
3. Women Be Wise (Originally recorded by Sippie Wallace, popularized by Bonnie Raitt)
4. I Hear You Knockin’ (Originally recorded by Smiley Lewis, popularized by Dave Edmunds)
5. Till I Get It Right (Tammy Wynette)
6. Are The Good Times Really Over (Merle Haggard)
7. The House Is Rockin’ (Stevie Ray Vaughan)
8. Ain’t No Sunshine (Bill Withers)
9. I’m A Woman (Originally recorded by Christine Kittrell, popularized by Maria Muldaur)
10. Anyone Who Had A Heart (Burt Bacharach for Dionne Warwick)
11. When I Fall In Love (Nat King Cole)
12. Sing

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Wynonna CDs

Wynonna MP3 Downloads



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.