Juliana Hatfield Preview Show

(PR) Juliana Hatfield will preview songs from How To Walk Away - her 10th solo album in a remarkable 20-year-career - in a special show at Joe's Pub in New York City on May 21st. The record is scheduled for release on August 19th on Hatfield's own label, Ye Olde Records (distributed via Redeye).

Produced by Andy Chase (of revered alt-rock/pop band Ivy) and recorded at Stratosphere Sound, the NYC studio co-owned by Chase, Adam Schlesinger (Fountains Of Wayne) and James Iha (formerly of Smashing Pumpkins), How To Walk Away features guests Richard Butler (Psychedelic Furs) and Matthew Caws (Nada Surf) on vocals, Jody Porter (Fountains of Wayne) on guitar, Tracy Bonham (violin) and more.

Fans who visit Hatfield's website and MySpace page can hear "Shining On" and check out the blog wherein she writes about songs selected by fans from her sizable repertoire. "Read it at your own risk - illusions may be shattered," Hatfield warns.

The album, which contains some of Hatfield's most candid writing ever, is evocative, layered, and unhurried. And yet, Chase has managed to retain her essential rawness of spirit, smoothing out some rough edges but not all, as evidenced by the loose, danceable "Now I'm Gone," sung and played by Hatfield in one inspired improvisational take. Walking away - and the loneliness that sometimes results - is a recurring theme. But while the songs' protagonists may be fatalistic, they are not without faith. Even in an outwardly sad song like "Such A Beautiful Girl" (co-written by Jason Hatfield, Juliana's brother), hope is not dead; the girl of the title waits patiently for a future that she knows, odds are, will be better than where she finds herself now. Similarly, the bittersweet yet life-affirming "Shining On" - mixed by veteran hit-making producer David Kahne (Kelly Clarkson, Paul McCartney, Sugar Ray, the Strokes) - exhibits a hard-won resilience in the face of disappointment and betrayal.

The track listing for How To Walk Away is as follows:

1. The Fact Remains
2. Shining On
3. The Lonely Love
4. My Baby...
5. Just Lust
6. Now I'm Gone
7. Remember November
8. So Alone
9. Such A Beautiful Girl
10. Law of Nature


Preview and Purchase Juliana Hatfield CDs

Juliana Hatfield MP3 Downloads




Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2020 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.