Marvel Over The Punisher: War Zone Soundtrack

(PR) Lionsgate is pleased to announce the upcoming soundtrack release to Punisher: War Zone, from Marvel Comics' latest film adaptation of fictional vigilante and deadly antihero Frank Castle. The lethal motion picture soundtrack features a powerful collection of A-list rockers including the first new music in 3 years from Rob Zombie in addition to heart-pounding songs from rock icons such as Seether, Slayer, Slipknot and Rise Against. The fifteen-track album attacks stores on 11/25/08. The film opens nationwide on December 5th, 2008.

The original track "War Zone", written for and inspired by the film, contains the kind of raw, throttling energy that has made Rob Zombie a platinum selling artist. The song will also serve as the first single from the soundtrack. About his contribution, Rob Zombie said: "I love writing music for films, rather than just throwing them an unwanted B side or remix. This track was written exclusively for Punisher War Zone. A punishing track for a punishing movie."

The record also features Slayer's 2008 Grammy winning "Final Six" and current chart-topping singles from Slipknot "Psychosocial" and Seether "Fallen". The beatdown doesn't stop there, with a broad mix of new and unreleased music that spans every niche of the rock genre, including unreleased songs by premiere punk group Rise Against and emo scenesters Senses Fail. Dan Trapp of Senses Fail had this to say: "We are super excited to be a part of the Punisher legacy… when we heard we were going to be involved, we all threw up in our hands out of excitement."

Adding to the epic soundscape of Punisher: War Zone is one lucky winner from the Lionsgate/Clear Channel "Unsigned Artist Contest" that was hosted last month. The contest attracted over 5,000 bands and millions of listeners. The winner will be announced on 10/24/08 at www.punisherwarzonemusic.com. Lionsgate Music President, Jay Faires adds, "teaming up with Clear Channel has been a phenomenal experience. The response to the Punisher contest has been incredible, and we are absolutely thrilled about introducing one of these talented unsigned bands to the world"

Providing extra ammunition to round out the album are emerging artists Kerli, highly praised electronica duo Justice, and an inspired, propulsive original score by Michael Wandmacher. This all adds up to make the Punisher: War Zone soundtrack one of the most anticipated of the season.

The PUNISHER: WAR ZONE track listing is as follows:

War Zone Rob Zombie
Final Six Slayer
Psychosocial Slipknot
Historia Calamitatum Rise Against
Fallen Seether
Bulletproof Kerli
Contest Winner Tbd
The Past Is Proof Senses Fail
Butterfly Wings Machines Of Loving Grace
Genesis Justice
Showdown Pendulum
Refuse Hatebreed
Lunatic Static-X
Days Of Revenge Ramallah
The Punisher Main Title Michael Wandmacher

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Punisher: War Zone CDs

Punisher: War Zone MP3 Downloads



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.