Datarock To Go Soph Red

(PR) Following an exciting week at SXSW that included sharing a stage with heroes DEVO, Norwegian rockers Datarock announce the North American release of their highly anticipated sophomore album RED on September 1, 2009.

The first single "Give It Up" -- a brilliant slice of eighties inspired rock/pop -- is available now on iTunes. Datarock has also just unveiled their rollicking new video for "Give It Up," which draws inspiration from classic duels, such as Michael Jackson "Beat It" and "Bad," the 1951 film West Side Story and the 1996 re-make of Romeo & Juliet.

"Give It Up" was initially an idea for a music video before it became a song, the lyrics actually paraphrasing some of these famous face offs. "There is a dance off," explains frontman Fredrik Saroea, "where the Datarock gang battles the bad guys. In the end, everybody joins the Datarock gang. I'm like Mercutio, telling Romeo to shape up, snap out of it, give it up." He continues, "Thing is, just singing a song about dancing... it's too simple. Everyone's gonna dance anyway. So it's nice to do something insane in the lyrics, like paraphrasing, you know, Romeo & Juliet!"

Track listing for RED:

1. The Blog
2. Give It Up
3. True Stories
4. Dance!
5. Molly
6. Do It Your Way
7. In The Red
8. Fear Of Death
9. Amarillion
10. The Pretender
11. Back In The Seventies
12. Not Me
13. New Days Dawn

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Datarock CDs

Datarock MP3 Downloads