Slim Twig Sets Album Debut

(PR) Shape-shifting performer, song-sculptor, and actor, Slim Twig is excited to reveal the track listing for his long-awaited debut full-length album, Contempt! on Paper Bag Records.

Contempt! will be available on CD, LP and digital on June 9. Slim will be touring North America in support of Contempt! with his band, the Mercy Mercenaries. Dates to follow.

Contempt! is a self-made exercise in resourcefulness where Slim experimented with whatever he could get his hands on. It leans decidedly towards an innovative pop sound that places sampling and found sound firmly at its core. The result, pairing the artist's "switchblade-sharp lyrics" (NOW Magazine) with a rawer, sample-based aesthetic, is unpredictable and highly original.

Beyond the attempt to move away from a conventional guitar and drum-based set up, the project is Slim's reconciliation of his obsession with early hip hop and the rockabilly-inflected persona that he has already cultivated. Think of it as 'Elvis lost in the 36 Chambers', fighting through lyrics that evoke dark, fragmented images and depraved characters.

Offstage, Slim has composed music for the award-winning short film, Letters From R, and can also be seen on screen as Billy Zero opposite Ellen Page in Bruce McDonald's The Tracey Fragments. Slim recently wrapped filming on his latest acting gig in French director, Kim Chapiron's film, Dog Pound.

Contempt! Tracklisting:
1. Young Hussies
2. Patty Ann
3. Alley Spying
4. Mansion Haunting
5. Hidden
6. Phantasm Inquest
7. Estate Intrusion
8. Gate Hearing! (Redux)
9. Japanese Machines
10. Tenement Watching
11. Sybarites Etc.
12. Spirit Hunting

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Slim Twig CDs

Slim Twig MP3 Downloads