The Black Hollies Go Softly Towards The Light

(PR) Ernest Jenning Record Co. is proud to announce the release of The Black Hollies third full-length album, Softly Towards The Light, due on October 6th.

In conjunction with the album release the band is excited to be hitting the road this fall, starting in September with Benjy Ferree, and with more dates still TBA.

Black Hollies IMGWith their new record, the New Jersey quartet continue the progression of a band from live powerhouse to expert song-crafters, blending a seductive combination of soul, British blues, and a dose of garage rock.

The catalyst for their latest album came when front man Justin Angelo Morey heard the song "If It's All The Same To you Babe" by the Luther Ingram Orchestra which led him down a road towards a deeper rooted soul feel and more introspective emotions. Recording outside of their own studio for the first time, the band chose the confines of Hoboken's Pigeon Club for its allegiance to warm tones and wealth of classic keyboards. Usual guitarist Jon Gonnelli moved to the electric organ for most of the recording, leaving room for Herbert Wiley's fuzzed out guitar heroics, while drummer Nick Ferrante put his live drumming theatrics on record with the band for the first time since joining in early 2008.

Softly Towards The Light new art imgWith Softly Towards The Light, The Black Hollies expand upon a sound that Rolling Stone described as "guitar heroics and psychedelia that would bring a smile to Brian Jones' face". The album kicks off with the energetic opener "Run With Me Run" and instantly drops into the floor-shaking stomp of "Gloomy Monday Morning" constructing walls of organ and cymbals that ride upon a bouncing bass line. "Lead Me To Your Fire" drives with blistering guitar solos that build to an energetic fever pitch, and on "How Did We Get Here" and "Everything's Fine" the Hollies display a newfound versatility, slowing things down with breathy vocals and backup harmonies that drift over shimmering guitar and keys.

From start to finish Softly Towards The Light brims with pop hooks and clever lyrics, another solid step forward in The Black Hollies continued evolution that looks to build upon the accomplishments of their past releases - Crimson Reflections (2006) and Casting Shadows (2008).

* = with Benjy Ferree

August 2009
29 - Baltimore, MD - Ottobar Scooter Rally

September 2009
04 - Hoboken, NJ - Maxwell's *
05 - New York, NY - Mercury Lounge *
06 - Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda's *
09 - Cleveland, OH - Beachland Tavern *
10 - Detroit, MI - Majestic Cafe *
11 - Chicago, IL - Reggie's Rock Club *
12 - Des Moines, IA - Vaudeville Mews *
13 - St. Louis, MO - Firebird *
15 - Athens, GA - Caledonia Lounge *
16 - Atlanta, GA - Drunken Unicorn *
17 - Charlotte, NC - The Milestone *
18 - Norfolk, VA - The Boot *
19 - Arlington, VA - IOTA *

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Black Hollies CDs

Black Hollies MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.