Little Girls Are Coming

(PR) Toronto group Little Girls aka Josh McIntyre and co. are excited to announce the release of debut and proper album, Concepts, on Paper Bag Records on October 13th.

After word started circulating earlier this year via some early blog attention from songs discovered on the band's MySpace and the subsequent release of their Tambourine EP and 12" on Brooklyn label Mexican Summer, the band are eager to showcase their history and unique sound. Concepts' eleven tracks span from the very first Little Girls track ever written to brand new material. The album was recorded only at night in a home studio with most of the songs contributing to an ongoing theme of 'growing up.'

It all started when McIntyre recorded a few songs in his home studio as a side project in early 2009. Seeking the unbiased opinions from friends and musical peers he anonymously Posted the music on the internet under the name "Little Girls," a name he believed least likely to reveal his identity. His influences come from the 80's no-wave post-punk scene, and the early 80's golden era of hip-hop. Equally influential are the late hip-hop artist J. Dilla, as well as Can, Joy Division, Wire, and The Clean.

Other Little Girls releases have been handled by Mexican Summer and Captured Tracks. Since then, the band has played several US dates with Japandroids, and was asked to perform at the Woodsist/Captured Tracks Festival in NYC alongside Crystal Stilts, Vivian Girls, Kurt Vile and Thee Oh Sees among others this past July. Little Girls will be playing a string of North American dates with Japandroids, Monotonix and Wavves (more to be confirmed) into the fall in support of Concepts' release.

"Most of the tracks on Concepts have a very nostalgic feel to them," says McIntyre. "The new record definitely has a darker tone to it compared to the Thrills EP; even the brighter songs still have dark undertones."

1.Youth Tunes
2. Seeing
3. Tambourine
4. Acorn A.D.
5. Imaginary Friends
6. Salt Swimmers
7. Thrills
8. Departure
9. Venom
10. Last Call
11. Growing

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Little Girls CDs

Little Girls MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2020 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.