Theatre Of Tragedy Reissues

(MMP) Theatre Of Tragedy is truly a phenomenon. Their first three releases became legendary on the doom/gothic/death metal scene, while the next two introduced a completely different musical style, bringing the group closer to industrial and electropop rather than traditional metal. Today Metal Mind Productions presents the exclusive re-releases of those two controversial albums by Theatre of Tragedy - "Musique" and "Assembly".

Metal Mind Productions will rerelease "Musique" and "Assembly" on 27th July in Europe and 8th September in USA (via MVD). Both titles are digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on a golden disc and include bonus tracks. New digipak editions are limited to numbered 2000 copies.

"Musique" was the first offering to take Theatre of Tragedy into a new direction and this exclusive re-release brings back one of the band's most revolutionary steps ever… In the year 2000 Theatre of Tragedy decided to part ways with their past and reach towards the future by completely changing their musical direction. Released through Nuclear Blast on October 2nd, the group's fourth LP, "Musique", brought a brave mixture of industrial, electropop and gothic rock. The band left their early gothic/death metal inspirations and introduced a fresh new sound, focusing on upbeat, electro-based tracks. This rather controversial style change was difficult to accept by many fans of Theatre of Tragedy's previous albums, but eventually the new formula proved to be more than convincing.

The band decided to continue their experiments with the industrial genre on their next LP – "Assembly" – which was released on March 4th, 2002. The songs were still kept in the electropop fashion, but in the same time the material seemed to be more refined and confident. Such songs as the subtle "Liquid Man", the extremely catchy "Automatic Lover" and the brilliantly composed "Envision" (where Liv's voice resembles… Kylie Minogue!) prove that Theatre of Tragedy were able to take the best out of mixing gothic rock with industrial and synthpop. What is more, the album featured the band's newest member – Vegard K. Thorsen, who previously worked with the group as a session guitarist.

"Musique" (remastered + bonus tracks)
1. Machine
2. City of Light
3. Fragment
4. Musique
5. Commute
6. Radio
7. Image
8. Crash/Concrete
9. Retrospect
10. Reverie
11. Space Age
12. The New Man

Bonus tracks:
12. Quirk (Original Version)
13. Radio (Unreleased Mix)
14. Reverie (Unreleased Mix)

"Assembly" (remastered + bonus tracks)
1. Automatic Lover
2. Universal Race
3. Episode
4. Play
5. Superdriver
6. Let You Down
7. Starlit
8. Envision
9. Flickerlight
10. Liquid Man
11. Motion

Bonus tracks:
12. You Keep Me Hangin' On
13. Let You Down (RMX)
14. Motion (Funker Vogt Remix)

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Theatre Of Tragedy CDs

Theatre Of Tragedy MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.