My Morning Jacket Celebrate Record Store Day With Exclusive EP

(PR) With last year's acclaimed Evil Urges still going strong, and memories of their many live performances fresh in the minds of all who witnessed them, My Morning Jacket would like to give a token of thanks in the form of a new, live EP. Titled Celebración De La Ciudad Natal, the EP will be released on Record Store Day, April 18th. In support of independently owned and operated businesses across the country, it will only be sold in independent retail stores

The recording is also a tribute to My Morning Jacket's hometown of Louisville, KY, which has shown unwavering support towards the guys since day one. The seven tracks were recorded at the two very different but equally memorable Louisville shows the band played last year: an in-store performance at local record shop Ear-X-Tacy, and a performance at local landmark Waterfront Park.

The band elaborates: "Hello friends. We are proud to announce and release a lil live EP that was recorded right in our very own hometown of Louisville, KY. a few songs were taken from our in-store appearance at our beloved and fabled record haven "Ear-X-Tacy" and a few of them were taken from our concert at the fabled "Waterfront Park." See if you can guess which is from which. We are excited to make this a special release that you can only get at your favorite local independent record store, as now more than ever we all need to take the time to celebrate what our favorite local record stores and businesses mean to us – the value of community/human-to-human, non-internet related physical and spiritual contact, and supporting the hardworking people in your community who strive everyday to keep it unique and keep it local. We are fortunate in our travels to get to see many wonderful things, but one of the most distressing things is the increasing "normalization" of the world and how all these places are starting to look the same – everywhere you look more and more towns are starting to be filled with the same gigantic corporations, and while some of these huge companies undoubtedly provide valuable services, it is so important that we realize that it is our local businesses and people (and natural landscapes, but that's a different letter) that are what make different towns worth coming to... things you can only get in one place, made and sold by people who believe in what they are doing... people who are trying to keep good weirdness alive in this crazy dome. God* bless all of you, and god* bless the world and all that kinda sh*t.

P.S.- *The word "god*" is used here meaning anything you want it to mean and is a trademark of Globo-Chem Worldwide."

1.) Evil Urges
2.) Highly Suspicious
3.) Gideon
4.) Where To Begin
5.) Librarian
6.) Phone Went West
7.) Dondante

*Mixed by Ryan Pickett

*Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound

*Recorded Live in Louisville, KY at Ear-X-Tacy & The Louisville Waterfront

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase My Morning Jacket CDs

My Morning Jacket MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2020 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.