Wonderlick's Topless Sophomore Effort

(PR) The California-based group Wonderlick will be releasing their sophomore full-length, "Topless At The Arco Arena," on July 7, 2009 via Missing Piece/Rock Ridge Music.

According to band member Tim Quirk, the record, "examines the intersection of art and commerce from people who have been on every side of it." "Topless At The Arco Arena" finds Quirk and bandmate Jay Blumenfield making music for music's sake. Both have very successful careers in other endeavors: Tim is VP, Programming of Rhapsody and Jay is a TV producer and video director.

Inspired by Tim's essay of the same name (originally published in the anthology "This is Pop! [Oxford University Press]), the album was recorded in Oakland and Los Angeles over the past few years. The essay will appear in its entirety as the album's liner notes.

"Many of us were in bands," Quirk wrote in the essay, "and before the dot-com explosion had spent most of our time writing, playing or watching music being made. But the tech boom had brought us out of the world of nightclubs and concert halls and into the land of cubicles, and our adventures there proved just as heady, about as brief, and equally packed with contradictions.... It's possible to be complicit in your own exploitation, and it's easy not to mind." It is that mindset that brought to bear the musical fruits of "Topless At The Arco Arena."

Wonderlick comprises half of the former members of Too Much Joy a group known for witty alterna-pop which spawned the '90s hit "Crush Story" and sold several hundred thousand records. After Too Much Joy disbanded and some time had passed, Wonderlick started as a messing-around-in-the-studio project in 2001 between Quirk and Blumenfield, who have been friends since their teen years.

After they successfully garnered a sizable amount of money in donations when offering a track at a time to former Too Much Joy fans for free download online, Wonderlick decided to release their self-titled album in 2002. Since that time, they have continued to post new songs, some of which will make it onto the forthcoming album (see track listing below).

Continuing to redefine the relationship between fan and artist, the band began a pre-order offer on March 10th on www.sayhername.com, which will run until mid April and allows the fans to set their own price for the album. As an additional incentive, fans who offer to pay median price or higher will be thanked in the album package.

1 When She Took Off Her Shirt
2 All Boys Want
3 We Run the World
4 The King of Bad Decisions
5 Fear of Chicago
6 You First
7 The Case Against Tattoos
8 This Song is a Commercial
9 Nobody Loves You Enough

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Wonderlick CDs

Wonderlick MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.