MxPx Frontman Gets His Twang On

(PR) The front-man for MxPx has a new side project, Mike Herrera's Tumbledown, and will be releasing the self-titled debut album on May 19 through End Sounds. The hard-core country band just announced their signing with the Austin-based record label, which the band celebrated with a showcase at SXSW and to top things off, famed tattoo artist Oliver Peck created Tumbledown's album cover art.

The pop-punk-a-billy, country group out of Bremerton, WA consists of Herrera as songwriter/lead vocals/guitar, lead guitarist Jack Parker, standup bassist Marshall Trotland, and drummer Harley Trotland. They kick off their debut album with the twangy single, "Homeward Bound", following up with a grungier number, "Butcher of San Antone." The country music sounds, which Herrera has been writing since 1998, are influenced by such American music/songwriting legends as Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, and Bill Monroe. Mike Herrera's Tumbledown captures the punk rock energy of MxPx, while also displaying the soulful experiences of Herrera's travels along the lonely, open road. The result is an old-school, country-western swagger, with Herrera strumming a big dreadnaught acoustic over a chugging snare drum and stand-up bass. Guitarist Jack Parker adds to the Americana, with swiftly meandering, mean lead work.

Mike Herrera's Tumbledown just wrapped up a video for first single, "Butcher of San Antone" and is currently finishing up a 19-date tour through the end of this month, making their way through Texas, Idaho, Utah, Washington, California, Oregon, Colorado, and Arizona with fellow Bremerton, WA natives, SGFY on select dates. Washington fans will get closing honors with a double header: a matinee show at Sunset Tavern in Ballard and the finale at El Corazon in Seattle. For exact tour dates, please visit: www.myspace.com/tumbledowncountry. More dates to be announced shortly.

Tumbledown Track Listing:

1. Let's Drink
2. Butcher of San Antone
3. Break Out of History
4. Movin' On
5. I'm Still Here
6. State Line
7. Came Here To Fight
8. Second Hand High
9. My Sweet Darling Dear
10. Son of A Gun
11. Homeward Bound
12. *Hidden Track*

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase MxPx CDs

MxPx MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.