MxPx Punk Rawk Christmas

MxPx are digitally releasing a 14-track Christmas album titled Punk Rawk Christmas through their label, Rock City Recording Company on December 1.

This special holiday offering has been over 10 years in the making; one punk-carol classic released each year (sometimes two) to their PxPx Fan Club for over a decade has now been packaged along with one new original track, "Punk Rawk Christmas" and the soon-to-be-classic punk cover of "Auld Lang Syne."

This year marks the band's 17-year anniversary and in celebration they have already released an album of covers, On The Cover II in addition to an EP, Left Coast Punk, their first original release in more than two years. Lead singer/bassist Mike Herrera explains the bands decision on now adding in a full-length Christmas album, "This year there was just enough songs to make for a nice, robust holiday album. Any more would be too much, any less would be…well, you get the idea." Longtime fan favorites such as "Christmas Day," "You're The One I Miss" and "It's Christmas and I'm Sick" are wrapped up alongside the previously unreleased "Punk Rawk Christmas". About the title track, Herrera says, "I was sitting at the studio writing and thinking of how bad the economy was. Then I came up with the idea of Christmas itself being broke and 'on a budget' hence, Punk Rawk Christmas was born." Adding to the Christmas list of hits, MxPx has added their version of, "Auld Lang Syne", because, "we wanted to do at least one cover, but didn't want it to be too weird and cheesy. ALS seemed perfect. It was fun and we did it in one afternoon; what I call the punk rock 101-style of recording."

As a bonus, MxPx will be releasing a RED version of the album available only through Amazon on Demand, which features a physical copy of all 14 tracks, but alternative artwork from the version sold on the bands website. The RED version will be available on December 1. Also available on the same day the band will be releasing a collector's dream, a limited edition marble-colored 7" vinyl featuring the bands first Christmas track ever written, "Christmas Day" and their most recent track, "Punk Rawk Christmas" in their original form on side A, and acoustic versions on side B. The 7" vinyl is a limited run of 500 and is only available through the bands website: www.mxpx.com. Also only available through the website is the 'Limited Edition' version, known as the GREEN version. This edition includes all 14 tracks, plus two bonus tracks, a previously unreleased original song called "Coal" and an unreleased original demo track, "Questions" in addition to an expanded photo pull-out cover and will be available one week after the digital release on December 8.

Pre-sales are available for the 'Limited Edition' only, for fan club members first on December 1 with a public pre-sale launching on December 3, both through www.mxpx.com.

1. Punk Rawk Christmas (Previously Unreleased) (2009) (New)
2. Christmas Day (1998)
3. Christmas Only Comes Once A Year (1999)
4. Coming Home For Christmas (2000)
5. You're The One I Miss (This Christmas) (2001)
6. Christmas Party (2002)
7. Christmas Night Of The Living Dead (2003)
8. So This Is Christmas? (2003)
9. It's Christmas And I'm Sick (2004)
10. 2005 (2005)
11. Late Great Snowball Fight Of 2006 (2006)
12. Gimme Christmas (2007)
13. Another Song About Christmas (2008)
14. Auld Lang Syne (Traditional) (Previously Unreleased) (2009) (New)

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase MxPx CDs

MxPx MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.