Birdmonster Dropping EP

(PR) Fader Label, is pleased to announce the release of Blood Memory, an EP by San Francisco indie rockers Birdmonster. The songs on Blood Memory were recorded during the sessions for From The Mountain To The Sea, the band's 2008 album produced by Tom Schick (Ryan Adams, Rufus Wainwright, Norah Jones). The 8 song EP will be available exclusively through iTunes for only $4.99 on Tuesday, September 22nd.

Peter Arcuni, lead singer of Birdmonster describes the process for Blood Memory as, "choosing songs for an album is a lot like what I imagine picking favorites amongst your children to be. That is to say: not easy. So instead of picking them yourself, you try to let the songs decide, you try to get out of your own way. And if you can do that, you might find the album congealing all on its own, from start to finish, without needing any help from you. And sometimes what takes shape isn't exactly what you intended, but still something that needs its saying.

These were some of the thoughts ambling through our minds when sifting through the 25 songs that would eventually become the 12 comprising our second album, From The Mountain To The Sea. There were a few casualties.

A year later while starting work on a new batch of ideas, we thought we'd revisit those sessions and see if there was anything there...anything that had miraculously congealed, on its own, in our absence. What we found amid the sketches and b-sides was a group of 8 tracks of a different nature altogether. It was something darker, something more perilous, more narrative, more conceptual than any of the material we'd thus far released. We found a world desperate for gunfights, confrontations with The Man On High, journeys through ice by way of the desert; If its predecessor was a stab at something concise and singular, this was a world of extremities; one where loud guitars eventually give way to desperate banjos, settling to a bed of acoustics and messy piano lines. I was left wondering, Could I have intended this all from the start?

So for now, as we return to the other matters, we hope you enjoy this: Blood Memory."

01 I Might Have Guessed (Mean Version)
02 Forever Gone
03 Mine To Say
04 Scatter Your Words
05 Yuma
06 Day To Day
07 The Iditarod (Evening Version)
08 I Won't Be Long / True Romance

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Birdmonster CDs

Birdmonster MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.