Thunderstone Burning Again

(MMP) Thunderstone is one of the most acclaimed modern power metal bands. The Finnish quintet lead by mastermind Nino Laurenne debuted on the metal scene in 2001, and since then released five full-length albums. "The Burning", Thunderstone's sophomore offering, is still considered as one of their best works, showcasing a perfect blend of speedy riffs, bursting solos and mind-blowing vocals…

"The Burning" was released by Nuclear Blast Records on January 19th, 2004. The album's content was much more complex and heavier than on the debut, mostly thanks to an improved composing process, which focused more on teamwork. "This whole thing in the beginning was my project. On the second album you can tell that it's more of a band effort." – said Laurenne – "On the second disc I wanted the band to be heavier so maybe that's the reason we have moved away from the sound of Sonata Arctica and Stratovarius." The heavier material made vocalist Pasi Rantanen change his vocal style to a much more harsh and powerful one. The album showcased much progress compared to the previous offering. There were still some of Thunderstone's trademark mid-tempo songs to be found (such as the excellent opener "Until We Touch The Burning Sun" or "Mirror Never Lies"), but now they were accompanied by some really fast power metal masterpieces ("Tin Star Man", "Break The Emotions", "Evil Within"), as well as a beautifully lyrical ballad – "Sea of Sorrow". Also, the track "Drawn to the Flame" featured a guest performance by Symphony X guitarist Michael Romeo.

Metal Mind Productions will re-release "The Burning" on 5th October in Europe and 1st December in USA (via MVD). New digipak edition includes 6 bonus tracks and is limited to 2000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on a golden disc.


1. Until We Touch The Burning Sun
2. Break The Emotion
3. Mirror Never Lies
4. Tin Star Man
5. Spire
6. Sea Of Sorrow
7. Side By Side
8. Drawn To The Flame
9. Forth Into The Black
10. Evil Within

Bonus Tracks:
11. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
12. Diamonds And Rust
13. Heart Of Steel
14. Let The Demons Free (Demo Version)
15. Voice In A Dream (Demo Version)
16. Me, My Enemy (Demo Version)

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Thunderstone CDs

Thunderstone MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.