Barren Earth Are Coming

(PR) Scandinavian Progressive Death Metal titans-to-be, Barren Earth, have announced the release date for their debut EP, Our Twilight. Recently signed to the Progressive powerhouse, Peaceville Records, Finland's Barren Earth will unleash the Our Twilight EP on November 17th.

Barren Earth features an experienced line-up from a host of internationally renowned & acclaimed outfits. With former members of Finnish metallers, Amorphis, plus current members of Swallow the Sun, Moonsorrow, Kreator, and Mannhai, the members of Barren Earth are no newcomers to the Progressive Metal scene.

Recorded in late June 09 in Finland, at Seawolf Studios and Jive Studios, Our Twilight can be described as "Progressive and Folk-textured Death Metal", combining elements of modern and traditional Death Metal, with 70's Prog Rock and Folk, while drawing influences from artists such as Paradise Lost, Opeth, Pink Floyd, and Jethro Tull. The debut EP was produced by Jukka Varmo, with Dan Swanö at Unisound Studios handling the mixing and mastering. Artwork comes courtesy of Niklas Sundin of Cabin Fever Media (Arch Enemy,Soilwork, Dark Tranquility).

Dan Swano (Unisound Studios - Katatonia/Opeth/Bloodbath) exclaims, "The perfect blend of light and darkness. A new level of amazing has been reached!"

The track list for 'Our Twilight' is…
1. Our Twilight
2. Jewel
3. The Flame of Serenity
4. Floodred

"Getting signed by Peaceville Records is a great honour, as they are one of the very few metal labels left who have a passion and feeling for the music they release," explains bassist Olli-Pekka Laine (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai). "To us, it also feels like coming home, because in a way they carry a big responsibility for Barren Earth's existence, by having released the most important albums from pioneers such as Autopsy and Paradise Lost. Those albums played a huge role, when we sucked our musical mother's milk in the late 80's and early 90's. This is a fact that should be noticeably evident in Barren Earth's sound and music. Hopefully Barren Earth will also be able to add a fresh spin to Peaceville's already impressive roster."

A debut full-length album, containing the extended version of Our Twilight, will be released in early 2010. Stay tuned for more information regarding Barren Earth and the Our Twilight EP.

Barren Earth is…
Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals (Swallow The Sun)
Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai)
Kasper Mårtenson –Keyboards (Ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band)
Janne Perttilä – Guitar (Rytmihäiriö)
Marko Tarvonen – Drums (Moonsorrow)
Sami Ylisirniö – Guitar (Kreator, Waltari)

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Barren Earth CDs

Barren Earth MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.