Fountains of Wayne's Jody Porter Announces Solo Debut

Fountains of Wayne guitarist Jody Porter will release his solo debut Close To The Sun via Engine Room Recordings on May 11, 2010.

According to his website, the US version of Close to the Sun will include two new tracks called Twilite and Good to be Alone. Jody recorded the songs with drummer Jared Nissim throughout January 2010, in NYC.

Known for his impressive guitar playing abilities and Brit-pop style, Jody Porter first garnered attention in the early 1990's fronting and writing songs for the then London-based group, The Belltower. After topping the English charts, the band moved back to the States, eventually breaking up in 1996.

Later that year, Porter was asked by friend, Adam Schlesinger to join his newly-formed band, Fountains of Wayne. In 2003, they received two Grammy nominations for their RIAA certified gold album, Welcome Interstate Managers released by Virgin Records. During this time Jody began writing and recording what would eventually become his premiere solo effort.

Entitled Close to the Sun, Porter's debut album was produced by Michael Tudor and Gordon Raphael (The Strokes, Regina Spector) and will be released May 11.

Jody Porter - vocals, guitars, bass, keys, drums
Chad Murdock - guitar, keys
Dan Haag - bass
June Sanders - drums
Ronnie Buttacavoli - trumpet on track 9
Tom Hamer - drums on track 10
Jeff Berrall - bass on track 11

Preview and Purchase Jody Porter CDs

Jody Porter MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.