Ethan Lipton & His Orchestra Set June Release

Dubbed 'Best Lounge Act of 2009' by New York Magazine, Ethan Lipton & His Orchestra play a brand of uncategorizable folk/jazz/country/lounge- lizardry that's drawn comparisons to the music of Leon Redbone, They Might Be Giants, Randy Newman and Tom Waits. They release their sophomore studio album HONKER on June 29, 2010.

With melancholy wit and a cockeyed worldview, sepia-toned singer-songwriter Lipton and band-mates Eben Levy (guitar), Ian Riggs (bass) and Vito Dieterle (sax) deliver songs steeped in irreverent sincerity, soul and 50's Memphis groove.

Featuring guest vocals from Matt Berninger of The National, Honker was funded entirely by fans around the world through funding platform Kickstarter, and continues Lipton's unique gift of conveying thoughts and emotions most don't want to admit.

"I'm worried about how the soul is doing, mine and other peoples," acknowledges Ethan. "I'm worried about what the world is doing to the soul, how it's giving the soul a hard time. And I'm trying to give the soul a little comfort, a pat on the back, a reason to laugh at itself, or even just a clearer picture--a more compassionate explanation--of why, no matter how hard it tries, it's never going to win."

"We're here to represent the half-empties of the world," declares Ethan Lipton of his band, now entering its fifth year as a quartet. "We know there's some good news buried in all the bad, and we're trying to dig it out and get it to the people who need it—on finger sandwiches of delight, if possible."

HONKER Track Listing:

1- Bicycle
2- Skyrocketed
3- I'm Sorry
4- You Were Right + It's Okay
5- Little Container
6- Showing My Love
7- We Would Have Never Met
8- Poor Old Whitey
9 - My Pit Bull
10 - Disappointment
11- Wonderful
12- First Moved to Town
13- Out of This Bed
14- He Gets It
15- Wash Hands
16- When You Die w/ Matt Berninger (The National) & Cynthia Hopkins (Gloria Deluxe)
17- If the Police
18- Hippie Song
19- People and Cats
20- Bicycle 2

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Ethan Lipton & His Orchestra CDs

Ethan Lipton & His Orchestra MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.