New Numbers To Delivers Some New Numbers in March

New Numbers' debut LP, Vacationland, will be released physically via the band's own label Musiques Primitives and via iTunes on March 8. 2011.

A 12-inch pressing on high quality 180 gram vinyl will be available through These Are Not Records.

The new band of Brooklyn mainstays, singer/guitarist Josh Abbott and drummer Mike Fadem, who were formerly in The Jealous Girlfriends (along with Holly Miranda), is neither a side project nor an off-shoot, rather it is the sum of two musicians who are together finally realizing the sound and vision they have long been in the pursuit of.

The self-funded, self-recorded album builds on the songs Abbott penned for the band's inaugural EP, Islands, and features a reimagining of two tracks -"Islands" and "Hinterlands." Those songs benefit from a full band makeover and provide a foundation for the new materials that aims to recall shared influences of Brian Eno-era David Bowie and Iggy Pop while also exploring the group's psychedelic side. The bulk of the album was recorded at breakneck speed in one day at a proper studio and as a result the songs are imbued with a palpable sense of urgency and rawness that nearly jumps out of the speakers. The tracks were then labored over at Abbott's home, with the mixing, overdubs and sonic layers added over several months in his Williamsburg living room.

Vacationland's nine songs introduces a band who is discovering their identity and emerging on the musical scene with something sincere and innovative to express. Disc opener "Death and Dying" is a static-laced soundscape filled with pounding drums, squelching synths and buzzsaw guitars while "Talk About Yourself" is a beat-driven exploration into the band's electronic side. Meanwhile, "Islands" slowly reveals itself to be the beast of a song it is. Beginning innocently enough with a chugging clean guitar and Abbott's unassuming vocals, the song devolves into a frenetic storm of distortion and crashing drums as it continues its climax past the six minute mark. The pace quickly changes as the next track "Creature Comforts" begins with a chorus of animal sounds to kick off the melodic tale about humans being overthrown by the animal kingdom.

Album highlight "Hinterlands" is a high-energy burst of rock swagger that swings likes a Smiths song with a sneer and shows off the band's love of keyboards. The song features a guest appearance by friend Kevin Devine who lends his guitar skills and backing vocals to thicken up the mix. Aside from New Numbers, Fadem pulls double duty as Devine's drummer in his band, The Goddamn Band, and the band's first show was opening for Devine at the Bowery Ballroom in April 2009. In addition, Fadem also mans the sticks for Team B, the band fronted by Kelly Pratt, horn player for Arcade Fire and Beirut.

Since their very first show, New Numbers have quickly amassed a following for their passionate playing and energetic live performances. Most recently, their showings at this year's CMJ as well as myriad gigs across New York have solidified themselves as a band on the rise. Stay tuned for news about shows in the new year.

Preview and Purchase New Numbers CDs

New Numbers MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.