Tony Bennett and Don Imus Among Presenters for AFTRA AMEE Awards

The AFTRA Foundation today announced the presenters for the 2010 AFTRA Media and Entertainment Excellence Awards (The AMEES), where the spectrum of AFTRA talent will be on display.

Award-winning broadcast journalist and Radio Hall of Famer Bob Edwards will host the dinner gala benefit on Monday, Feb. 22, at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. Edwards is AFTRA National First Vice President and is a past AMEE Award recipient in broadcasting.

Award presenters were chosen by the honorees and include: Singing legend Tony Bennett and broadcast journalist Jorge Ramos (WNJU’s “Noticiero 47”) will present the AMEE Award in Sound Recordings to Latin music superstar Juanes.

Sesame Workshop CEO Gary Knell will present the AMEE Award in Entertainment to the cast of “Sesame Street.”

Bob Edwards will present the AMEE Award in Broadcasting to Good Morning America’s Robin Roberts.

“CBS News Sunday Morning” contributor Bill Geist will present the AMEE Lifetime Achievement Award in Broadcasting to veteran newsman Charles Osgood.

Radio personality Don Imus will present his longtime friend, Sam Moore, with the AMEE Lifetime Achievement Award in Sound Recordings.

The AMEES were created in 2003 to honor AFTRA members for excellence in their craft and their contributions to the fields of media and entertainment. Proceeds from the 2010 AMEE Awards go to benefit the AFTRA Foundation, an independent non-profit organization separate from AFTRA that provides support to charitable and educational endeavors critical to AFTRA members, including the George Heller Memorial Scholarship which provides scholarships to AFTRA members and their dependents for academic study, and the International News Safety Institute, the only global organization solely dedicated to the safety of journalists and other news professionals.

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Tony Bennett CDs

Tony Bennett MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.