The Kissaway Trail Set Release

The Kissaway Trail, from Odense, Denmark, are releasing their 12-track LP, entitled Sleep Mountain via Bella Union on April 6th, 2010. Eleven of the tracks are original, and one is a cover of the haunting Neil Young song, "Philadelphia," the title track from the 1993 motion picture by Jonathan Demme. Sleep Mountain is a brilliant sonic assault. With all 5 band members sharing vocal duties, 4 on guitar and 2 on keys, the sound results in glorious melodies, epic choruses, and high octane energy. This pop-savvy rock band arrives on US shores to open arms.

The Kissaway Trail was formed by members Sřren Corneliussen (Lead Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards) and Thomas Fagerlund (Lead Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards) who share duty as front-men and key songwriters. The duo previously recorded as the band, Isles, and released an album in 2005. Later, the pair was joined by members, Daniel Skjoldmose Hansen (Lead Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals), Hasse Mydtskov (Drums, Vocals) and Rune Pedersen (Bass Guitar, Vocals). Together, they recorded and released their debut self-titled album in 2007, which was received with deafening praise across the UK and Europe. A record that England's The Independent called, "the debut album of the year." Along with The Independents acclaim, the young band achieved 4-star reviews from top critics at The Guardian, Mojo and The Times, instating The Kissaway Trail's musical promise.

Setting their sights even higher, in early 2008, The Kissaway Trail set out to record their sophomore release, and the first for America. They rehearsed in a desolate rented farm close to their home in Odense (Denmark's third largest city, situated on the island of Funen) before shifting to the French mountains to narrow down their material. By the end of 2008, they moved the recording process to Sweden. At the close of the year, and the album nearly done, the band realized it was not the musical vision they intended and decided to trash the record, and begin fresh at the top of 2009. Sleep Mountain, was made at Odense's Lydkraft Studio, where the magic of their debut record had also been created, with their dream producer, Peter Katis (Interpol, The National, Sigur Rós' Jónsi) in just two weeks.

The album isn't so much a reinvention for the Danish quintet, but a fabulous progression. The clanging of church bells on the bombastic opener, "SDP" leads the charge into the panoramic sensation of the album. Sleep Mountain guides listeners through varying moods and emotions with dramatic cadences. Album standout, "Don't Wake Up" is an impressive tune showcasing the use of euphoric electronic sounds and raw guitars, displaying what this band does best. "Beat Your Heartbeat" is one of the most joyous yet melancholic songs on the record with its dramatic drum patterns and multiple vocal chorus repeatedly chanting "they will beat your heartbeat." Sleep Mountain is a contemporary, timeless and vulnerable rock album.

The Kissaway Trail will return to the States for the first time in 2 years this March for an incredible performance at SXSW! For an early taste of the band's brilliance on stage, check out this live footage of The Kissaway Trail in Berlin: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGAuoio1ntM.

1. SDP
2. Painter
3. New Year
4. Don't Wake Up
5. Friendly Fire
6. Prelude
7. Beat Your Heartbeat
8. Philadelphia
9. New Lipstick
10. Pharaohs and Kings
11. Enemy
12. Three Million Hours

Preview and Purchase Kissaway Trail CDs

Kissaway Trail MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.