Worker Bee Releases Tangler and Book Bay Area Dates

Worker Bee's debut album, Tangler, is what the band made it to be and whatever the listener wants it to be. This ethos has been instated since the first conception of the band came together in San Jose, California in 2006. They self-released two EPs before mounting creative clarity came to a head and they penned their first full-length album. Their sound continues to evolve from one release to the next, perfecting the marriage of elaborate instrumentation, angularity and beautiful haunting noise.

An exercise in simplicity, limitation was key in the recording of Tangler. Done in the non-studio of the band's house in California and working with only eight tracks each song, the record itself speaks of something larger than the whole. Space left ajar by the music is quickly occupied by the listener's own impartments.

Because of this intended elasticity, the album never makes a home in any strict genre. Songs like "Nesting" and "Cold Rats" are awash in percussive gasps and collapsed guitars. Through its blue dirge, the narrative of "When You Came Through" depicts a man giving in to something that most never could. "Rough Magic" emits a displacing fog where landmarks only appear in the sampled clangor and the steady drums become the only ground. The album's side closers "No Dreams" and "Surface Eating Acid Bath" entail all the ideas of Tangler. No one thing has meaning and reason endowed on it in the same way twice but the attempt is the real goal.

Tangler is available for purchase on CD and as a digital download via Bandcamp.

Worker Bee - Tangler
Release Date: Available now
RIYL: Sonic Youth, Liars, Nick Cave

01 Come Back
02 Nesting
03 When You Came Through
04 Cold Rats
05 Rough Magic
06 No Dreams
07 Frozen Game
08 Lip Service
09 All Roads
10 Surface Eating Acid Bath

Tuesday, Jan 5 - San Francisco, CA - Cafe Du Nord (w/ Cannons and Clouds, The Blank Tapes)
Saturday, Jan 9 - Monterey, CA - Jose's Underground Lounge (w/ Mississippi Man, The SIlent Comedy)
Tuesday, Jan 26 - San Francisco, CA - Hemlock Tavern (w/ Silian Rail, Boomsnake)
Wednesday, Feb 3 - San Jose, CA - The Blank Club (w/ Ugly Winner, By Sunlight)

Preview and Purchase Worker Bee CDs

Worker Bee MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.